By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Biotechnology teacher named Newton County schools' Teacher of the Year
Laura Lambert
Newton College & Career Academy teacher Laura Lambert poses with the roses she received for winning the Newton County School System Teacher of the Year award Thursday, Oct. 6. Her prizes also included $1,000 cash and a crystal vase from the Newton Chamber of Commerce and $500 cash from Covington Ford. She will now represent NCSS in the Georgia Teacher of the Year competition. (Special | NCSS)

COVINGTON, Ga. — Newton College & Career Academy biotechnology teacher Laura Lambert was named Newton County School System’s 2023 Teacher of the Year Thursday, Oct. 6, during a ceremony at Newton High School.

Lambert will now be eligible to represent Newton County Schools in the Georgia Teacher of the Year Program.

Her prizes included $1,000 cash and a crystal vase from the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, $500 cash from Covington Ford, and a dozen red roses.

Blake Alexander of East Newton Elementary School and Tiffany Pinnock of West Newton Elementary School were this year’s runners-up. They each received a crystal vase award from the Newton County Chamber of Commerce. 

“It’s incredibly overwhelming right now, a little unnerving, but I hope that I do a good job representing Newton County as we move forward,” said Lambert after the ceremony. “I can’t express how humbling it is to have been picked out of such a group of impressive educators.” 

Lambert began her career in education as a chemistry and biology teacher at Monroe Area High School in Walton County before joining the Newton County School System and Newton College & Career Academy team in 2019. She earned her undergraduate degree in neuroscience from Georgia State University and her master’s degree in Education from Piedmont University in 2017. She also is certified in both Gifted and STEM.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible without the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2023 Teacher of the Year program: Truist; Covington Ford; Edgar Law Firm; Ginn Motor Company; Georgia Piedmont Technical College; Hargray; Main Street Land & Properties; Newton College & Career Academy; Nisshinbo Automotive; Qualified Staffing; Sunbelt Builders, Inc.; The Center (Newton County Tomorrow); Bridgestone Golf; Covington Newspaper; High Priority Plumbing; Newton County IDA; Newton County Water & Sewer; Northside; SKC, Inc.; BD; General Mills; Keenan Media; Meta; Newton County; Newton Federal Bank; Piedmont Newton; Snapping Shoals EMC; United Bank of Covington; Universal Planning & Development; Abbey Hospice; AT&T; Beaver Manufacturing; City of Covington; Dualdeko; MAU Workforce Solutions; Oxford College; Pinnacle Bank; SteelCo; Synovus; Takeda; and Tread Technologies (Michelin).