By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School-level Teachers of the Year
1st row: Sheronda Hardy, La Donna Higgins, Janie Jones, Ailia Gilbert, Sonya Mosely. 2nd row: Whitney Logsdon, Magalie Pierre, Audrey Champion, Helen Jordan, Lisa Irwin, Kerri Fuller, Jena Collins, Seneathia Lewis, Tami Maddox. 3rd row: Stretch Brandenburg, Don Swaney, Dianne Hall, Dr. Debra Russell, Marion Hanahan, Dean Goldgar, Rachel Walker, Carlos Hernandez

Rockdale County Public Schools recently announced the school-level Teachers of the Year, who will go on to compete for Rockdale County Teacher of the Year.

One teacher at each school was selected by their peers for the honor of being named his/her school’s Teacher of the Year. All 22 Teachers of the Year are educators to whom others look for inspiration and direction.

“We are proud of each one of these teachers,” says Superintendent Dr. Samuel King.  “They provide outstanding learning opportunities for their students and work tirelessly to ensure each is prepared to move to his or her next level.  They are model teachers and set a great example for others to follow.  We look forward to naming our three finalists next month which will take us a step closer to naming the Rockdale County Teacher of the Year in November.”

Competition for the Rockdale County Teacher of the Year will begin with the school-level candidates completing a comprehensive application, in which they will answer questions related to their teaching philosophy and their reasons for deciding to serve the community as educators. The applications will be reviewed and scored by a panel of three judges.  After totaling the scores, three finalists will be named.

The judges will observe each finalist teaching students in his/her classroom. Then, each finalist will be personally interviewed. When this has been completed, the judges will have the difficult task of selecting the Rockdale County Teacher of the Year, who will represent Rockdale County Public Schools at the state competition.

 Elementary School TOTYs
Barksdale – Rachel Walker
C.J. Hicks – Sonya Mosely
Flat Shoals – Magalie Pierre
Hightower Trail – Carlos Hernandez
Honey Creek – Lisa Irwin
J.H. House – Dianne Hall
Lorraine – Kerri Fuller
Peek’s Chapel – Ailia Gilbert
Pine Street – Jena Collins
Shoal Creek – Janie Jones
Sims – Seneathia Lewis

Middle School TOTYs
Conyers – Helen Jordan
Davis – Whitney Logsdon
Edwards – Audrey Champion
Memorial – Sheronda Hardy

High School TOTYs
Heritage – Marion Hanahan
Rockdale – Don Swaney
Rockdale Magnet – Dr. Debra Russell
Salem – Dean Goldgar

Non-Traditional School TOTYs
Alpha Academy – La Donna Higgins
Open Campus – Tami Maddox
Rockdale Career Academy – Stretch Brandenburg