By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Three Oxford College eagles win national championships

A year after winning the NJCAA Division III National Championship, Oxford College of Emory University was back vying for a championship.

The Eagles left the event held Monday through Thursday at Collin College in Plano, Texas with three national champions.
Vignesh Sundaram was crowned champion in No. 6 singles and Shams Sohani and Chase Mahrlig were crowned champions in No. 2 doubles.

Sundaram was the No. 2 seed in the tournament, and opened with a match against Jacob Rosenfield, of Rockland Community College. Sundaram he won 6-1, 6-2.

Sundaram next faced Kevin Martin, of Brookdale Community College, winning 6-1, 6-3. On Thursday, Sundaram finished off with a 6-2, 6-3 win against Brad Boyson, of Rowan College. Boyson reached the final match after defeating the No. 1 seed, Yasser Farid, of Mercer County Community College.

Sohani and Mahrlig were seeded No. 1 in No. 2 doubles and eased through the first match, before needing three sets in the second. Mahlrig and Sohani defeated Jake Evans and Triston Spennato, of Suny Broome Community College, 6-2, 6-0 and Farid and Jeremy Gottlieb, of Mercer County Community College, 2-6, 6-2 and 6-4.

The Oxford duo won the final match 6-2, 7-6(5) against Krueger Keene and Nick Munson, of Illinois Valley Community College.

The Oxford College of Emory University tennis team is Peter Higgins, of Cape Elizabeth, Maine; Michael Pioso from Wellesley, Massachusetts; Shams Sohani from Chattanooga, Tennessee; Chase Mahlrig from Fortmill, South Carolina; Andrew Chow from Newton, Massachusetts; Vignesh Sundaram from Sherman, Texas and Adib Zaidi from Cranbury, New Jersey.