By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hice announces 2017 U.S. Service Academy Nominations
AP Photo/Lauren Victoria Burke

U.S. Congressman Jody Hice (GA-10) announced the names of the high school and college students whom he nominated for appointments to America’s Service Academies Jan. 10.  He also extended his congratulations to Jacob Allen, of Loganville, William Johnson, of Warrenton, and Alexis Shirley, of Watkinsville, the first of his nominees to receive academy appointments this year. 

“It is my honor to offer my congratulations to these exceptional students who are among the best and brightest in the Tenth Congressional District,” Hice said.  “These young men and women exemplify the highest attributes of character, scholarship, and patriotism and will go on to become the future leaders of America’s Armed Forces.  Jacob, William, and Alexis are the first of twenty-five students whom I nominated to receive prestigious appointments to one of our Nation’s Service Academies, and I look forward to congratulating additional nominees in the weeks and months ahead.”

Congressman Hice has the privilege of nominating eligible students to the United States Air Force (USAFA), Naval (USNA), Military (USMA), and Merchant Marine (USMMA) Academies.  Please note that a nomination does not mean a student will automatically receive an offer of admission, officially referred to as an appointment.  The Service Academies’ admissions authorities make the final determination.  

Congressman Hice submitted for nomination the following twenty-five students:

  1. Jacob Allen (Loganville), Walnut Grove High School – offered appointment to United States Air Force Academy
  1. Christopher Austin (Oxford), Georgia State University
  1. Shane Blalock (McDonough), Ola High School
  1. Justin Blough (Braselton), Mill Creek High School
  1. Benjamin Bruner (Athens), Cedar Shoals High School
  1. William Caldwell V (Milledgeville), Georgia Military College
  1. Jack Chambers (Bishop), North Oconee High School
  1. Allen Dodge (Evans), Augusta Christian High School
  1. Craig Edwards (Social Circle), Providence Christian School
  1. Zachary Fedak (Evans), Greenbrier High School
  1. Wyatt Galloway (Mansfield), Piedmont Academy
  1. Justin Gittemeier (McDonough), Union Grove High School
  1. Ian Gonzales (Auburn), Dacula High School
  1. Garrett Hipp (Dacula,), Archer High School
  1. Alexa Jacquitte (Monroe), George Walton Academy
  1. Anna Jerald (Bishop), North Oconee High School
  1. William Johnson (Warrenton), Briarwood Academy – offered appointment to United States Air Force Academy
  1. Korrey King (McDonough), Naval Academy Preparatory School
  1. Madison McKee (Dacula), Bethlehem Christian Academy
  1. Thomas Mims (Buckhead), Riverside Military Academy
  1. Forde Norris (Athens), Prince Avenue Christian School
  1. Morgan Phillips (Winterville), University of North Georgia
  1. Andrew Salies (McDonough),  United States Military Academy Preparatory School
  1. Richard Salies (McDonough), Georgia State University
  1. Alexis Shirley (Watkinsville), North Oconee High School – accepted appointment to United States Air Force Academy

Hice made his decision after consulting with his 2016-2017 Military Academy Selection Board.  He was honored to have the following members serve on his board:  Stu Mosbey, Colonel, USAF (Ret.), Todd Miller, Lieutenant Colonel, USA (Ret.), Seth Hathaway, Lieutenant Colonel, USMC (Ret.), Edward Shelor, Lieutenant Colonel, USMC (Ret.), Dr. Curtis Jones, Jr., Lieutenant Colonel, USA (Ret.) and Dr. Marva Dixon.