By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ga. Senate Majority Caucus elects leaders for 2015
Placeholder Image

ATLANTA (AP) — The Georgia Senate Majority Caucus has selected six Republican lawmakers to serve as the group's leaders for the 2015 legislative session.

Officials said Monday that Sen. David Shafer of Duluth was re-elected to serve as the group's president pro tempore, defeating Sen. Butch Miller of Gainesville. Sen. Bill Cowsert of Athens was tapped to serve as senate majority leader.

Sen. Steve Gooch of Dahlonega was chosen to serve as senate majority whip and Sen. William Ligon of Brunswick was elected as majority caucus chairman.

Sen. Hunter Hill of Smyrna has been elected majority caucus vice chair and Sen. John Wilkinson of Toccoa was chosen to serve as majority caucus secretary.


Previous versions of this story incorrectly stated that Sen. Butch Miller had been seeking re-election as the president pro tempore of the Senate Majority Caucus. Sen. David Shafer had already been serving in the post and was re-elected Monday.