By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting for primaries gets underway
First votes cast Monday in state, local races
Newton County Administration Building
The Development Services office is in the Newton County Administration Building in downtown Covington. - photo by File Photo

COVINGTON, Ga. — Early voting for governor and other state races is underway in Newton County and around Georgia.

The early balloting began Monday morning across the state.

Voters may begin to pick their nominees for state offices such as governor, lieutenant governor and secretary of state where there are no incumbents on the ballot.

Newton County has a Democratic primary for a Board of Commissioners seat on the ballot, and voters get their choice for a seat in Congress.

The county is split between District 4 and District 10 in the U.S. House. Both feature Democratic and Republican primaries with the incumbents facing a challenge.

In-person advance voting takes place at the Board of Elections office in the Newton County Administration Building, 1113 Usher St. NW, Suite 103, Covington. Voting is available between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday and Friday, through May 18.

Saturday voting also will be available from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. May 12 at the Board of Elections.

Election Day is May 22, when polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at 22 locations across the county.

Here’s a look at the races on the Newton County ballot. Not all voters will vote in all races.

U.S. Representative, District 4

Democrats: Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr. (i), Juan Parks

Republicans: Joe Profit, Melanie Williams

U.S. Representative, District 10

Democrats: Tabitha A. Johnson-Green, Chalis Montgomery, Richard Dien Winfield

Republicans: Bradley Griffin, Jody Hice (i), Joe Hunt


Democrats: Stacey Abrams, Stacey Evans

Republicans: L.S. “Casey” Cagle, Eddie Hayes, Hunter Hill, Brian Kemp, Clay Tippins, Marc Urbach, Michael Williams

The incumbent is Republican Nathan Deal, who cannot seek another term.

Lieutenant Governor

Democrats: Sarah Riggs Amico, Triana Arnold James

Republicans: Geoff Duncan, Rick Jeffares, David Shafer

The incumbent is Republican Casey Cagle, who is running for governor.

Secretary of State

Democrats: John Barrow, Rakeim “RJ” Hadley, Dee Dawkins-Haigler

Republicans: David Belle Isle, Buzz Brockway, Josh McKoon, Brad Raffensperger

The incumbent is Republican Brian Kemp.

Attorney General

Democrats: Charlie Bailey

Republicans: Chris Carr (i)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Democrats: Fred Swann

Republicans: Gary Black (i)

Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire

Democrats: Janice Laws, Cindy Zeldin

Republicans: Jim Beck, Jay Florence, Tracy Jordan

The incumbent is Republican Ralph T. Hudgens.

State School Superintendent

Democrats: Sid Chapman, Sam Mosteller, Otha E. Thornton Jr.

Republicans: John Barge, Sonia Francis-Rolle, Richard Woods (i)

Commissioner of Labor

Democrats: Richard Keatley, Fred Quinn

Republicans: Mark Butler (i)

Public Service Commissioner, District 3 (Metro Atlanta)

Democrats: Lindy Miller, John Noel, Johnny C. White

Republicans: Chuck Eaton (i)

Public Service Commissioner, District 5 (Western)

Democrats: Dawn A. Randolph, Doug Stoner

Republicans: John Hitchins III, Tricia Pridemore (i)

State Senate, District 17

Democrats: Phyllis D. Hatcher

Republicans: Nelva Lee, Brian Strickland (i)

State Senate, District 43

Democrats: Tonya P. Anderson (i), Joel Thibodeaux

State House, District 109

Democrats: Denise Gaines-Edmond, Regina Lewis-Ward

Republicans: J. Blake Prince, Dale Rutledge (i)

State House, District 110

Republicans: Andrew J. “Andy” Welch (i)

State House, District 112

Republicans: Dave Belton (i)

State House, District 113

Democrats: Pam Dickerson (i), Sharon Henderson

Newton County Board of Commissioners, District 2

Democrats: Demond Mason, Steven Rhodes, Antonio Ross, Earnest L. Simmons

The incumbent is Democrat Lanier Sims.

Newton County Board of Commissioners, District 4

Democrats: J.C. Henderson (i)

Republicans: Spencer Arnhart

Newton County Board of Education, District 1

Republicans: Trey Bailey (i)

Newton County Board of Education, District 3

Democrats: Shakila Henderson-Baker (i)

Newton County Board of Education, District 5

Republicans: Abigail M. Coggin (i)


Justice of the Supreme Court (Melton)

Harold D. Melton (i)

Justice of the Supreme Court (Hunstein)

John Ellington

Justice of the Supreme Court (Boggs)

Michael P. Boggs (i)

Justice of the Supreme Court (Peterson)

Nels Peterson (i)

Justice of the Supreme Court (Grant)

Britt Cagle Grant (i)

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Miller)

M. Yvette Miller (i)

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Dillard)

Stephen Dillard (i)

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Ellington)

Ken Hodges, Ken Shigley

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Rickman)

Brian Rickman (i)

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Mercier)

Amanda H. Mercier (i)

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Bethel)

Charlie Bethel (i)

Judge of the Court of Appeals (Reese)

Clyde L. Reese III (i)

Newton County E-SPLOST