By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Schools name teachers of the year
Placeholder Image

The Newton County School System has named its 2012–2013 school-level "Teacher of the Year" recipients, who will contend to be the Newton County School System’s 2014 Teacher of the Year.

Twenty-three teachers gathered for a photo at the Newton County Board of Education Monday, after they were congratulated by NCSS Superintendent Samantha Fuhrey on receiving their school-level honors.

The 23 teachers were selected by peers at each of their schools at the end of the last school year.

School-level Teachers of the Year are Tonya Doss, East Newton Elementary; Cindi Helms, Fairview Elementary; Kim McSwain, Flint Hill Elementary; Maria Hargrove, Heard-Mixon Elementary; Kimberly Inscho, Live Oak Elementary; Kathy Shropshire, Livingston Elementary; Karen Piper, Mansfield Elementary; Valerie Strickland, Middle Ridge Elementary; Wendi Carnes, Newton County Theme School at Ficquett; Nicole Benton, Oak Hill Elementary; Tammy Rogers, Porterdale Elementary; Shannon Barron, Rocky Plains Elementary; Ginger O’Neal, South Salem Elementary; and Tequila Anthony, West Newton Elementary. Also,  Sondra Glenn, Clements Middle; Michelle Ozburn, Cousins Middle; Cheryl Rankins, Indian Creek Middle; Kelli Wesley, Liberty Middle; Kellen Ellis, Veterans Memorial Middle; Bill Gibbons, Alcovy High; Ashley Rickard, Eastside High; Nicholas Jones, Newton High; and Dolores Williams, Newton College and Career Academy. They will participate in the county Teacher of the Year program, which consists of written essays and interviews about educational philosophies and teaching background. Interviews will be conducted this week.  Three Newton County "Teacher of the Year" finalists will be named Friday, Sept. 13.

The teacher with the highest overall combined score in the essay, interview and observation portions of the competition will be announced at the 2014 Teacher of the Year ceremony at Newton High School on Sept. 26 at 4:45 p.m.

The 2014 Teacher of the Year will receive a dozen roses, a three-month free car rental from Covington Ford, a check for $1,000 from the Covington-Newton County Chamber of Commerce and will represent the school system in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.