By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Re-Imagine Newton winners honored
Placeholder Image

The Newton Education Foundation recognized its Re-Imagine Newton 2012-13 grant recipients and donors at a reception Tuesday.

Grant recipients discussed their projects with donors and others attending the reception at the Newton County Board of Education building. The Newton Education Foundation — a local, independent, non-profit corporation founded to create a culture of support for public education — awarded more than $10,000 in grants to teachers during its 2012-13 annual Re-Imagine Newton fundraising campaign.

Fall 2012 award recipients included Angela Cooper of the Newton College and Career Academy; Steven Joyce of Newton County Theme School at Ficquett; and Rhonda Rodgers of Challenge Charter Academy. Spring 2013 award recipients included Kena Hudgins of Newton County Theme School at Ficquett; Jeff Johnson of Oak Hill Elementary School; Lori McGovern of Indian Creek Middle School; and Kemily Pattillo of the Newton College and Career Academy. The 2013 fall grant cycle will run Oct. 15-Nov. 5. Grants will be awarded at the Nov. 19 Board of Education meeting.