By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Eastside football dominates All-Region 4-AAAA squad
Austin Holloway
Eastside quarterback Austin Holloway is a first team selection to the Region 4-AAAA All-Region squad. - photo by Daniel Doe | The Covington News

The Eastside Eagles dominated the All-Region 4-AAAA football team, as 23 members of coach Troy Hoff’s squad were selected to the All-Region roster. 

Nine players were named to the All-Region first team, including kicker Billy Love and punter Juwan Gibbs, who were named Special Teams Place Kicker and Punter of the Year, respectively. 

Senior corner Eric Stokes, who currently holds 19 NCAA Division I offers, and is considered by many recruiting prognosticators as a favorite to pick Georgia, was given the nod as second team Special Teams Returner of the Year behind Woodward’s Jeff Hubbard. Stokes was also given first team honors as a defensive back. 

Running back Anthony Brown, wideout Josh Sims, offensive linemen Lamarius Benson and Chandler Sweat and linebacker Garrett Stevens were all named to the first team squad. 

The second team featured the following Eagles players: Wide receivers Brayden Harper and Jamari Brown, defensive linemen Spurgeon Gaither and Brady Dial, offensive lineman Will Shelton, linebacker Micah Hart and defensive back Caleb Allen.

Sophomore tailback Taylor Carter, defensive limen Cameron Jabir-Gaither and Rico Ruffin and linebacker Jaylon Lackey were all named honorable mention. 

These were some of the key cogs in an Eastside team that went 7-3-1 in 2016, while ending their season with a loss to Spalding in the first round of the state playoffs. 

Here is the All-Region 4-AAAA squad in its entirety: 




Coach of the Year: John Hunt

Region 4-AAAA Player of the Year: Ryan Glover, QB (Woodward Academy)

Offensive Player of the Year: Josh Johnson, WR (Woodward Academy)

Defensive Player of the Year: Keiston Lowery, LB (Luella)

Ironman Award (Two-way Player of the Year): Cade Sutherland (Woodward Academy)

Special Teams Returner of the Year: 1st Team- Jeff Hubbard (Woodward Academy); 

2nd Team- Eric Stokes (Eastside)

Special Teams Place Kicker of the Year: 1st Team – Billy Love (Eastside)

    2nd Team – Marlon Palacios (Henry County)

Special Teams Punter of the Year:  1st Team – Juwan Gibbs (Eastside)

        2nd Team – Martin Rodriguez (Woodward Academy)

First Team Offense

QB -- Austin Holloway (Eastside)

RB -- Latrell Murray (Luella)

RB -- Anthony Brown (Eastside)

WR -- Josh Sims (Eastside)

WR -- Nehemiah BRown (Druid Hills)

WR -- T.J. Taylor (Henry County)

OL -- Knox Hagan (Woodward Academy)

OL -- Lamarius Benson (Eastside)

OL -- William Berkey (Woodward Academy)

OL -- Demarco Mosley (Druid Hills) 

OL -- Chandler Sweat (Eastside) 

First Team Defense

DL -- Terry Myrick (Woodward Academy)

DL -- Yaya Diaby (North Clayton) 

DL -- Robert Washington (Salem) 

DL -- Jahmal Wynter (Henry County)

LB -- Demorreal Burnam (Salem)

LB -- R.J. Phillip (Woodward Academy)

LB -- Garrett Stevens (Eastside) 

DB -- Eric Stokes (Eastside)

DB -- Kenyon Blackshear (Druid Hills) 

DB -- Kontrell Yarbrough (Druid Hills) 

DB -- J.R. Pace (Woodward Academy) 


Second Team Offense

QB -- J.T. Thomas (Henry County) 

RB -- James Monroe (North Clayton)

RB-- Jalen Polk (Woodward Academy)

WR -- Jamari Brown (Eastside)

WR -- Brayden Harper (Eastside) 

WR -- Kyle Zuber (Salem)

OL -- Alex Le (Henry County)

OL -- Zachary Lee (Salem) 

OL -- Leander Jordan (Druid Hills) 

OL -- Will Shelton (Eastside)

OL -- Christopher Mitchell (North Clayton)


Second Team Defense

DL -- Spurgeon Gaither (Eastside)

DL -- Xavier Perkinsn (Druid Hills) 

DL -- Kurt Voltaire (Luella) 

DL -- Brady Dial (Eastside) 

LB -- Khalid McCalla (Druid Hills)

LB -- Tevin Hull (North Clayton) 

LB -- Micah Hart (Eastside) 

DB -- Darian Wiggins (Woodward Academy) 

DB -- Yvner Fredric (Henry County) 

DB -- Artemus McCorkle (Salem)

DB -- Caleb Allen (Eastside) 


Honorable Mention

Nehemiah Brown (Druid Hills); Marlan Palacios (Henry County); Isaiah Dawson (Druid Hills); Keelin Lee (North Clayton); Harrison Aiken (Druid Hills); Darrell Carter (Salem); Chaz Mayfield (Luella); Taylor Carter (Eastside); Tahj Gary (Woodward Academy); Laquan Williams (Salem); Isaiah Dawson (Druid Hills); Jaiquan Earl (North Clayton); Anthony King (North Clayton); Billy Jerome (Henry County); Hunter Flaconer (Woodward Academy); Rayvon Kee (North Clayton); Darius Starr (Henry County); Tahze Allen (Henry County); Dalton Morgan (Eastside); Colton Dillingham (Luella); Josh McCollough (Woodward Academy); Marquiz Thomas (North Clayton); Vincent Glanton (Druid Hills); Deshaun Baker (Druid Hills); Surdita Anderson (North Clayton); Zack Quarterman (Woodward Academy); Cam Gaither (Eastside); Tony Smith (Salem); Rico Ruffin (Eastside);Treyon Chambers (Salem); Kobo Sandel (Woodward Academy); Ashton Curtis (Luella); Shaquan Edelen (Henry County); Carl Fisher (Luella); Chris Phillips (Henry County); Nick Helvy (Salem);