By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Snapping Shoals gives $40K in scholarships
Placeholder Image

Three of the six All-Around Student Scholarships awarded by Snapping Shoals EMC, and 11 of the 100 applicants overall were awarded to Covington students recently.

Ajanae Parks, Bradford Porter and Sierra Fleming of Covington joined Aaron Barron, Sheyenne Roe of Conyers and Hannah Brown of McDonough as All-Around Scholarship winners.

A total of $40,000 in scholarships was given to high school seniors by Snapping Shoals EMC. Twenty students from the Covington-based co-op’s territory were chosen to receive the scholarships from among more than 100 applicants.

The 14 students who will receive J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarships are: Ifeoma Egbulem, Brandon Hayden, Tyler Smith and Lesley Ochei from district one (Newton, Walton, Morgan and Jasper counties); AlexisMathis, Aquib Momin, Brianna Patton and Julie Roseberry from district two (Rockdale County); Arely Lopez and DeJai Mitchell from district three (DeKalb County); and Ablavi Degue, Forrest Elliott, Maggie Ivester and RachelStokes from district four (Henry and Butts counties).

The selection of the J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarship recipients is based on academic ability, financial need, school activities, community involvement and other criteria. The Snapping Shoals EMC Scholarships were created in 1993 and were renamed in memory of Snapping Shoals’ former manager, president and CEO J.E. Robinson after his death in 2004. J.E. Robinson Scholarships are worth $2,000 each.

Also worth $2,000 each, the first Snapping Shoals EMC All-Around Student Scholarships were created in 2007 to recognize the amazing high school students throughout the co-op’s area who are able to balance involvement in extracurricular activities while maintaining an excellent academic record. Involvement in school and community activities is the primary consideration for the All-Around Student Scholarship. Academic ability and financial need are also factors in the selection of the All-Around scholarship recipients.

SSEMC scholarships are funded by unclaimed capital credits – the revenues that are over and above the cost of providing service for customer-owners of an electric co-op for a specific year after financial obligations have been met.