By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting starts today for runoff

COVINGTON, Ga. - Early voting started Monday, July 2 in the July 24 Primary Election Runoff. 

The Democratic ballot is broken into two sections, depending on county district. The State School Superintendent race - with candidates Sid Chapman and Otha E. Thornton Jr. - is featured on both ballots. The winner will face Incumbent Republican Richard Woods in November.

The Newton County District 2 Commissioner runoff - with candidates Demond Mason and Earnest L. Simmons - is available for District 2 voters. The runoff election will determine who will fill the seat of current District 2 Commissioner Lanier Sims, who announced in March that he would not be seeking reelection

PDF: Sample Ballot - Democratic (non-District 2)
PDF: Sample Ballot - Democratic (District 2)

The Republican ballot features three state elections. Candidates L.S. "Casey" Cagle and Brian Kemp are in a runoff for the Republican Governor's position. The winner will face Democrat Stacey Abrams in November.

Geoff Duncan and David Shafer are facing off for the Republican Lieutenant Governor position. The winner will face Democrat Sarah Amico in November.

David Belle Isle and Brad Reffensperger are facing off for the Republican Secretary of State position. The winner will face Democrat John Barrow in November. 

PDF: Sample Ballot - Republican

The Newton County Board of Elections office, located in the Newton County administrative building on Usher Street, will be open for early voting from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday through July 20. The office is closed July 4 in honor of the Independence Day holiday. 


Sample ballots were provided by the Newton County Board of Elections office.