By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates continue to sign up in final days
Qualifying ends Friday for 2018 elections
Republican Qualifying
Republicans hold qualifying for state elections in a room off the Rotunda at the State Capitol in Atlanta on Wednesday, March 7, 2018. - photo by David Clemons

COVINGTON, Ga. - Qualifying for the 2018 elections continues Thursday, with time winding down for prospective candidates to get their names on the ballot.

As of the end of qualifying Wednesday, Newton County was in line for no contested local races. In fact, no one had qualified for the 2nd District seat on the Board of Commissioners currently held by Democrat Lanier Sims of Covington.

Steven Rhodes of Covington resigned from the Newton County Recreation Commission on Wednesday and said he would run for the District 2 seat.

J.C. Henderson, the longest-serving member of the Board of Commissioners, is the only candidate to qualify for the 4th District seat. He is a Democrat from Covington.

The three incumbents whose seats are up for election on the county Board of Education have qualified to run. They are Republican Trey Bailey of Covington in District 1, Democrat Shakila Henderson-Baker of Oxford in District 3 and Republican Abigail Coggin of Covington in District 5.

The 4th District seat in Congress had no opposition for incumbent Rep. Hank Johnson, a Democrat from Lithonia, as of Wednesday.

Rep. Jody Hice, a Republican from Greensboro representing the 10th District, had two Republican challengers in Bradley Griffin and Joe Hunt. Tabitha A. Johnson-Green, Chalis Montgomery and Richard Dien Winfield are running in the Democratic primary.

The ballot in the governor's race continued to fill with Stacey Abrams and Stacey Evans, both former state representatives, qualifying as Democrats.

Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle, former state Sen. Hunter Hill, Secretary of State Brian Kemp and businessman Clay Tippins have qualified to run for governor in the Republican primary.

Gov. Nathan Deal, a Republican, cannot seek a third term.


U.S. Representative, District 4

Democrats: Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr. (i)

U.S. Representative, District 10

Democrats: Tabitha A. Johnson-Green, Chalis Montgomery, Richard Dien Winfield

Republicans: Bradley Griffin, Jody Hice (i), Joe Hunt


Democrats: Stacey Evans

Republicans: L.S. “Casey” Cagle, Hunter Hill, Brian Kemp, Clay Tippins

The incumbent is Republican Nathan Deal, who cannot seek another term.

Lieutenant Governor

Democrats: Sarah Riggs Amico, Triana Arnold James

Republicans: Geoff Duncan, Rick Jeffares, David Shafer

The incumbent is Republican Casey Cagle, who is running for governor.

Secretary of State

Democrats: John Barrow, Rakeim “RJ” Hadley

Republicans: Buzz Brockway, David Belle Isle, Brad Raffensperger

The incumbent is Republican Brian Kemp, who cannot seek another term.

Attorney General

Democrats: Charlie Bailey

Republicans: Chris Carr (i)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Republicans: Gary Black (i)

Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire

Democrats: Cindy Zeldin

Republicans: Jim Beck, Jay Florence, Tracy Jordan

The incumbent is Republican Ralph T. Hudgens.

State School Superintendent

Democrats: Sid Chapman

Republicans: John Barge, Richard Woods (i)

Commissioner of Labor

Democrats: Richard Keatley, Fred Quinn

Republicans: Mark Butler (i)

Public Service Commissioner, District 3 (Metro Atlanta)

Democrats: Lindy Miller, John Noel

Republicans: Chuck Eaton (i)

Public Service Commissioner, District 5 (Western)

Democrats: Dawn A. Randolph, Doug Stoner

Republicans: Tricia Pridemore (i)

State Senate, District 17

Democrats: Phyllis D. Hatcher

Republicans: Nelva Lee, Brian Strickland (i)

State Senate, District 43

Democrats: Tonya P. Anderson (i), Joel Thibodeaux

State House, District 109

Democrats: Denise Gaines-Edmond, Regina Lewis-Ward

Republicans: J. Blake Prince, Dale Rutledge (i)

State House, District 110

Republicans: Andrew J. “Andy” Welch (i)

State House, District 112

Republicans: Dave Belton (i)

State House, District 113

Democrats: Pam Dickerson (i), Sharon Henderson

Newton County Board of Commissioners, District 2

The incumbent is Democrat Lanier Sims.

Newton County Board of Commissioners, District 4

Democrats: J.C. Henderson (i)

Newton County Board of Education, District 1

Republicans: Trey Bailey (i)

Newton County Board of Education, District 3

Democrats: Shakila Henderson-Baker (i)

Newton County Board of Education, District 5

Republicans: Abigail Coggin (i)