By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newton County Schools celebrate birthday

According to a statement released by Samantha Fuhrey, superintendent, Newton County‘s first board of education (BOE) was officially formed Feb. 7, 1871.

The first board included 12 members. J.J. Dearing was elected board president and H.T. Shaw was elected secretary and county school commissioner, the title then given to the person who did the work of today’s superintendent.

“We have come a long way in 146 years, but much work remains to be done,” Fuhrey said. “It is critical to the lives of our students that we provide them with 21st century learning experiences that prepare them for the tremendous possibilities of the future.”