By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NCSS announces 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year
2019 toyt
COVINGTON, Ga. - The Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2019-2020 school-level teachers of the year. 

These teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the Newton County School System’s 2020 Teacher of the Year. Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy and style of teaching. 

On Tuesday, Sept. 17, and Wednesday, Sept. 18, each teacher will participate in a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce and local businesses and civic organizations. Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, three finalists will be determined (the teachers with the three highest combined scores). 

On Tuesday, Sept. 24, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation, will be announced as the NCSS’s 2020 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, Oct. 3 at 4:45 p.m.

The NCSS would like to congratulate the school-level Teachers of the Year, as they are each worthy of this special honor. 

As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School and presented with a commemorative plaque from the Coca-Cola Bottling Company. Each of the two runners-up will receive a crystal vase award. 

The 2020 Newton County Teacher of the Year will receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent NCSS in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program. 

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. 

As a result, the NCSS and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2020 Teacher of the Year program: Abbey Hospice; Alcovy Media; Athens Orthopedic Clinic; AT&T; BB&T; Beaver Manufacturing; Bridgestone Golf; BD; Covington Ford; Covington News; Fidelity Bank; General Mills; Georgia Connector; GPTC; Ginn Motor Company; Hargray Fiber; High Priority Plumbing; MAU; Newton County Water Authority; Newton Citizen; Newton Federal Bank; Nisshinbo Automotive; Oxford College at Emory University; Piedmont Newton; Pinnacle Bank; Takeda; SKC, Inc.; Snapping Shoals EMC; SteelCo; Sunbelt Builders, Inc.; Synovus; Three Ring; TPA Realty Services; Tread Technologies (Michelin); United Bank of Covington; Wagner Service Solutions; The Center; and Newton College and Career Academy.

2019-2020 Teachers of the Year 

  • East Newton Elementary -  Angela Spencer  
  • Fairview Elementary - Suvarna Naik 
  • Flint Hill Elementary - Dr. Shannon Price 
  • Heard-Mixon Elementary - Tina Hendrix
  •  Live Oak Elementary - Beth Nolan L
  • Livingston Elementary - Jaqerius Bibbs 
  • Mansfield Elementary - Carroll Moss 
  • Middle Ridge Elementary - Brittney Mapp 
  • Newton County Theme - Mindy Alexander 
  • Oak Hill Elementary - Shawanna Fluellen-Wilcher 
  • Porterdale Elementary - Sasha Sanders 
  • Rocky Plains Elementary - Ginger Johnson South 
  • Salem Elementary - Andreana Holmes 
  • West Newton Elementary - Tori Durrett 
  • Clements Middle - Kenrick Barnett 
  • Cousins Middle - Karen Moss 
  • Indian Creek Middle - Dr. Vicki Meeler 
  • Liberty Middle - Alexis Franklin 
  • Veterans Memorial Middle - Jennifer Hollowell 
  • Alcovy High - Eboni Simmons 
  • Eastside High - Betsy Proffitt 
  • Newton High - Shundra Green 
  • Newton College & Career Academy - Charlotte Joy

For more information on the NCSS Teacher of the Year program, contact Sherri Davis, director of Public Relations for Newton County Schools at