By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
National Honor Roll released
Placeholder Image

National Honor Roll recently released the names of 92 students from the Newton County area who qualified for induction for the 2006-2007 school year.

The organization contacts students with stellar academic performances. Qualifying students must maintain a B average or better, and submit information about their GPA, interests, activities and future goals.

"Young people such as our inductees, who work hard to attain academic success, deserve to be congratulated," National Honor Roll Publisher Lynn Romeo said in a statement. "Honoring their achievements provides motivation and encourages them to continue striving toward their goals."

The National Honor Roll reserves $25,000 annually for 25 of its qualifying inductees to share. The organization will also contact admissions offices of the colleges of the students' choice, notifying them of their acceptance into the organization and requesting information about the school for the student.

Nationally, two-thirds of the qualifying students averaged and A- or better. Seniors comprised 24 percent of the students, juniors 27 percent, sophomores 24 percent, freshman 19 percent, and 6 percent came from the class of 2011.

Each United States senator and state governor receives a copy of the entire list along with a list of the students who qualified from his or her state.

The inductees are as follows:

Newton High: Kyrie Alphonse, Paul Amancio, Loveth Amedu, Rebecca Armstrong, Yasmine Assanah, Jasmine Baker, Charmika Banks, Tiyana Barton-Bryan, Christina Bishop, Shanique Brewer, Tayla Brooks, Ebony Brown, Sabrina Brown, Shanta Brown, Beverly Callahan, Brittany Carter, Christina Champagne, Tia Cofield, Dujon Curtis, Charles Evans, Mickiela Gause, Roxana Gonzalez, Alia Griffith, Katie Hardegree, Daivondreia Haynes, Megan Heineman, Nicole Henderson, Stevie Hodges, Janae Jackson, Andrew Kabue, Riakeem Kelley, Shajuannicka Kemp, Alicia King, Veronica Lahens, Tiona Lewis, Mesheckia Lindsay, Avalyn Locke, Ronnie Logan, Gabriella Mattis, Niquasia Monroe, Jelissa Mooyin, Stephanie Nappi, Regina Nganga, Anyunna Phillips, Courtney Reagan, Audrenna Roberts, Bradley Rogers, Jessica Stykes, Rocquia Taylor, Zsaffrey Terrell, James Terry, Daniel Thompson, Anita Wallace, Kayla Ward and Timarcus Wyatt.

Eastside High: Kareem Clarke, Peter James, Lauren Reemes and Taylor Reese.

Alcovy High: Angelica English, Ariana Milligan and Suntiana Thompson.

Social Circle High:

Lauren Allgood, Courtenay Carithers and Kelsey Herbert.

Indian Creek Middle: Tyeshea Jenkins, Morgan Lynch, Dillon McGilton, Justin Moss, Jalisha Smith and Garrett Stapp.

Cousins Middle:

Tiara Turner

Piedmont Academy: Paige Atkins, Christopher Hall,

George Walton Academy: Dylan Jennings, Kylee Knop and Matt Steele.

Victory Christian School: Jasmin Burgess, Whitney Morgan, Cody Phillips, Tim Swaney and Jonathan Umphrey.