By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Host Alcovy Tigers wins Newton Cup
Placeholder Image

Alcovy wrestling welcomed Newton and Eastside to its gym Tuesday by winning the Newton Cup.

The Tigers beat Newton 49-23, followed by a 45-33 victory over Score Atlanta's No. sixth-ranked Eagles.

After losing to Newton at 106 pounds, Alcovy's Jerry Pike and Hunter Smith picked up pins in 113 and 120, respectively.
The Tigers picked up five more pins in their seven wins, including in 182 by Kamari Williams and 285 by Ryan Adams.

Williams and Adams were just two of Alcovy's wrestlers to get two pins on the day, later when the Tigers beat Eastside.
Trailing, Alcovy needed key matches against the Eagles, to pull out the Newton Cup victory.

Taylor Jenkins picked up the pin in the 145-pound classification, along with a 10-6 win by Parfait Fondseyuf in 182-pounds and Nick Langford had the pin in 220 pounds.

Along with Williams and Adams, Pike, Jake Hendrix and Cole Patterson also were unbeaten in two matches for Alcovy, which also had Michael Thurman win his one and only match.

Newton, which finished in third, hosts Lovejoy for senior night on Jan. 8 before the team state meet on Jan. 11-12. Eastside travels to Loganville for the Eric Hill Tournament today and Saturday.

Alcovy results:
Alcovy vs. Newton
106 lost 14-10
113 Jery Pike won by pin
120 Hunter Smith won by pin
126 lost by pin
132 Jake Hendrix won by pin
138 Sergio Cruz won by pin
145 lost by tech-fall
152 Cole Patterson won 15-6
160 Austin Richardson won 12-8
170 lost 9-5
182 Kamari Williams won by pin
195 Michael Thurman won by pin
220 lost by pin
285 Ryan Adams won by pin

Alcovy vs. Eastside
106 lost 13-7
113 Jerry Pike won by pin
120 lost by pin
126 lost by pin
132 lost by pin
138 Jake Hendrix won by pin
145 Taylor Jenkins won by pin
152 Cole Patterson won by pin
160 lost by pin
170 lost by pin
182 Parfait Fondseyuf won 10-6
195 Kamari Williams won by pin
220 Nick Langford won by pin
285 Ryan Adams won by pin