By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
General Mills recall stems from California plant
Placeholder Image

General Mills recalled Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios Tuesday that were produced during certain dates of July of 2015.

The cause of the recall was due to wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system, according to a news release form General Mills. The products in questioned are labeled gluten-free but may contain an undeclared allergen — wheat.

The recall originated in General Mills’ Lodi, California facility, located near Sacramento, California.

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves.

Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:
Honey Nut Cheerios from July 22, 2016 through July 25, 2016 and Yellow Box cheerios form July 14, 2016 through July 17, 2016.

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected.

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.