By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Teachers of the year announced by NCSS
Seated (L-R): Pam Allen, East Newton Elementary; Jan Hudson, Fairview Elementary; Amy Miller, Flint Hill Elementary; Yolonda Watterson, Heard-Mixon Elementary; Elisa Gray, Live Oak Elementary; Natarshia Nolley, Livingston Elementary; Leslie Edwards, Mansfield Elementary; Heather Hodge, Middle Ridge Elementary; and Lindsay Wilson, Newton County Theme School. Standing (L-R): Juanita Stephens, Oak Hill Elementary; Marlena Holloway, Porterdale Elementary; Plachette Lewis, Rocky Plains Elementary; Jessica Salmon, South Salem Elementary; Annette Prince, West Newton Elementary; Meghan Roper, Clements Middle; Phalanda Perriman, Cousins Middle; Adrian Stone, Indian Creek Middle; Tanahia Benton, Liberty Middle; Ijeoma Johnson, Veterans Memorial Middle; Cecily Bullock, Alcovy High; Leo Mallard, Eastside High; Jason Smith, Newton High; and Emmanuel Walter, Newton College & Career Academy.

The Newton County School System (NCSS) announced its teachers of the year for each of its schools Tuesday.

Each teacher was selected by their peer as the teacher of the year at the end of the 2015-16 school year, and are now eligible for the county-wide NCSS 2017 Teacher of the Year honor.

Each nominee worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet throughout the summer. The packet required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, Sept. 20, and Wednesday, Sept 21, each teacher will participate in a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce, and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, three finalists will be selected (the teachers with the three highest combined scores). On Wednesday, Sept. 28, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2017 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, Oct. 6 at 4:45 p.m.

All 23 teachers of the year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School, with the two runners-up each receiving a crystal vase award. The 2017 Newton County Teacher of the Year will receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.







East Newton Elementary


Pam Allen

Fairview Elementary


Jan Hudson

Flint Hill Elementary


Amy Miller

Heard-Mixon Elementary


Yolonda Watterson

Live Oak Elementary


Elisa Gray

Livingston Elementary


Natarshia Nolley

Mansfield Elementary


Leslie Edwards

Middle Ridge Elementary


Heather Hodge

Newton County Theme School at Ficquett

Lindsay Wilson

Oak Hill Elementary


Juanita Stephens

Porterdale Elementary


Marlena Holloway

Rocky Plains Elementary


Plachette Lewis

South Salem Elementary


Jessica Salmon

West Newton Elementary


Annette Prince

Clements Middle


Meghan Roper

Cousins Middle


Phalanda Perriman

Indian Creek Middle


Adrian Stone

Liberty Middle


Tanahia Benton

Veterans Memorial Middle


Ijeoma Johnson

Alcovy High


Cecily Bullock

Eastside High


Leo Mallard

Newton High


Jason Smith

Newton College & Career Academy


Emmanuel Balemala Walter