By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
SSEMC gives $40K in scholarships
Placeholder Image

Snapping Shoals EMC recently awarded $40,000 in scholarships to high school seniors. Twenty students from the Covington-based co-op’s territory were chosen to receive the scholarships from among more than 100 applicants.

The 14 students who will receive J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarships are:

• District 1 (Newton, Walton, Morgan and Jasper counties) – Catherine Aevaliotis, Conner Haler, Jemeia Kollie and Wendy Rodriguez

• District 2 (Rockdale County) – Tracy Bucknor, Nia Jordan, Mark Meyers and Dominique Steele

• District 3 (DeKalb County) – Candace Anthony and Alexis McDonald

• District 4 (Henry and Butts counties) – Stephanie Cook, Lacey Dickens, Nathan Hensley and Joshua Kennedy

The selection of the J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarship recipients is based on academic ability, financial need, school activities, community involvement and other criteria. The Snapping Shoals EMC Scholarships were created in 1993 and were renamed in memory of Snapping Shoals’ former manager, president and CEO J.E. Robinson after his death in 2004. J.E. Robinson Scholarships are worth $2,000 each.

Also worth $2,000 each, the first Snapping Shoals EMC All-Around Student Scholarships were created in 2007 to recognize the high school students throughout the co-op’s area who are able to balance involvement in extracurricular activities while maintaining an excellent academic record. Involvement in school and community activities is the primary consideration for the All-Around Student Scholarship. Academic ability and financial need are also factors in the selection of the All-Around scholarship recipients.

The six winners of All-Around Student Scholarships are Malik Alexander of McDonough, Olivia Botts of McDonough, Alex Grady of Covington, Heeyon Kim of Conyers, Destiny Loyd of McDonough and Shannon Millikin of Stockbridge.