By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rep. Johnson announces U.S. Service Academy nominations and appointments
Johnson nominations
Congressman Johnson celebrates 2018 Service Academy appointees with Service Academy Board Member, Mr. David Brice.

STONE MOUNTAIN, Ga. — Rep. Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced this week the names of the 25 students who were nominated to attend a U.S. Service Academies – Military Academy (West Point), Naval Academy, Air Force Academy, Coast Guard Academy and Merchant Marine Academy.

Six of the 25 students who were nomination received appointments to attend a Service Academy.

Every year, members of Congress nominate students to attend our nation’s military academies. Those nominees who are accepted into the academies are awarded full four-year scholarships that include tuition, books, room and board, medical and dental care.  The average award per appointment is worth $425,000.

“Each year, I consider it an honor to send you of on your journey to our esteemed institutions where you will be educated, trained, and inspired to help shoulder the wheel in defense of our nation,” Johnson told the students at a reception at Stone Mountain’s Art Station. “All of you are outstanding young people and you have the kind of leadership skills necessary to be successful in school, business and in life.”


  • James Ferrante: Providence Christian Academy (Air Force)
  • Justin Nelson: Arabia Mountain High School (Navy)
  • Jaison Taylor: Newton High School (Navy)
  • Christopher Terry: Stephenson High School (West Point)
  • Beining Xiao: Chamblee Charter High School (Navy)
  • Avery Jones: Miller Grove High School (West Point)


  • Ayomide Adekola: Grayson High School
  • O’Neil Archibald: South Gwinnett High School
  • Jhared Atkinson: DeKalb Early College Academy
  • Maxwell Blackman: Arabia Mountain High School
  • Queen Nonyameko Dais: Arabia Mountain High School
  • Nicholas Dezmel: Arabia Mountain High School
  • Keyon Edwards: Martin Luther King Jr High School
  • Nicholas Greiff: McIntosh High School
  • Nicholas Guy:  Heritage High School
  • Karissa Hodges: Martin Luther King Jr High School
  • Leah James: Martin Luther King Jr High School
  • Charles Marlin III: Martin Luther King Jr High School
  • Daniel Martin: University of Georgia
  • Keola Pasteure: Martin Luther King Jr High School
  • Robert Siggal IV: Heritage High School
  • Olivia Tomlinson: Rockdale Magnet School for Science
  • Roosevelt Trammell: Providence Christian Academy
  • Janai Tucker: Arabia Mountain High School
  • Shane Woodruff: Rockdale Magnet School for Science

All members of Congress may nominate up to 10 candidates per opening. Those who graduate from a Service Academy will receive a Bachelor of Science degree, be commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant, and honorably serve in the military for a minimum of five years.

For more information about the nomination process, contact Congressman Johnson’s office at 770-987-2291 or visit Rep. Johnson online at