By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NCSO holds annual awards ceremony
NCSO awards
Deputy of the Year Amanda Peters with Sheriff Ezell Brown and Chief Deputy Jerry Carter. - photo by Darryl Welch

COVINGTON, Ga. – The Newton College and Career Academy was one of the safest places in America Friday night as some of Newton County’s Finest gathered to honor their own and be honored at this year’s Newton County Sheriff’s Office Awards Ceremony.

Board of Commissioners Chairman Marcello Banes delivered the keynote address during the ceremony, saluting NCSO employees and thanking them for keeping the county safe.

“Tonight, from the Board of Commissioners, I want to salute you and tell you that you’re doing a great job,” he said, “Keep up the good work. Your work is not going unnoticed and we say ‘thank you’.”

Sheriff Ezell Brown congratulated and thanked award recipients and the other members of his department.

“I thank you for your hard work. I thank you for your dedication,” he said, “We have set the standard because of each and every last one of you.”

This year’s award recipients were:

Deputy of the Year:

Deputy Amanda Peters

Employee of the Year:

Detention Tech Rena Swanson

Rookie of the Year:

Deputy Andrew Archie

Division Deputy of the Year:

Criminal Investigation Division – Investigator Adriane Roop

Support Services Division – Corporal Jerry Taylor

Uniform Patrol Division – Corporal Romario Johnson

Special Investigations Unit – Special Agent Kevin Watkins


Corporal Kenneth Kent

Mrs. Kimberly Kent


Deputy Michael Gregg

Explorer of the Year:

Olivia Nukpoafe

Retirement Recognition:

Teri Key-Hoosen

Honorary Recognition:

Mr. Mitch Narrison – Longhorn Steakhouse

Ms. Kelley Duke – Dunkin Donuts

Chris and Amy Giella – Chick-fil-A

Joe and Matt Sellars – Sellars Motors