By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
City voters to pick leaders

COVINGTON, Ga. - Voters in Covington, Oxford, Porterdale and Social Circle will choose City Council members in elections Tuesday.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Tuesday in all the cities for the nonpartisan elections.

Covington voters will see two contested elections for City Council slots.

In Post 1, East Ward, incumbent Councilman Chris Smith faces a challenge from Susie Keck.

In Post 3, West Ward, Councilwoman Ocie Franklin drew opposition from Anthony Henderson and Jeffrey Johnson.

Councilwoman Hawnethia Williams is unopposed for re-election in Post 2, West Ward.

Voting in Covington will take place at City Hall, 2194 Emory St. NW.

In Porterdale, voters in Posts 3, 4 and 5 will get their say.

Councilman Tim Savage faces a challenge from Ryan Barrett, chairman of the city’s Planning and Zoning Commission, in Post 3. In Post 4, Councilman Mike Harper faces Marvin Moore. It’s Councilman Lowell Chambers against Rick Vaida in Post 5.

Porterdale voting is at City Hall, 2800 Main St.

Oxford has one contested race, in Post 6, where Dr. Melvin Baker chose not to run. Mike Besaw and Jeff Wearing are running for the open seat.

Incumbents David Eady (Post 4) and Jim Windham (Post 5) are running unopposed for re-election.

One mayor is assured of a new term: Gregg Ellwanger in Newborn drew no opposition. Newborn City Council members Martha Ellwanger (Post 4) and Wayne Sams (Post 5) were unopposed as well.

No elections were necessary in Mansfield with Ashlan E. Troutman (Post 3), Bret A. Dunn (Post 4) and Christopher Bryan Hale (Post 5) qualifying.

Social Circle will have races for City Council and Board of Education.

In Council District 1, Adolphus Gaither, William T. Haney and Traysa Cody Price compete for a seat now held by Scott Simpkins. Mayor Pro Tem David Keener is unopposed in District 3.

John Callahan is unopposed for the role of school board chairman.

Four women — Kimberley B. Donaldson, Jessica L. Hutcheson, Cassie D. Jones and Tonia Lumpkin — are part of a special election to fill Sinclair Grey’s former school board seat in District 1.

Larry Cross has filled the board seat since Grey moved out of the district earlier this year. Patrick Dally was appointed to fill Callahan’s old District 3 seat.

District 2 school board member Jamie P. Peterson faces a challenge from Antonio Rico Jackson, and Vice Chairman Charles M. Akin is opposed by Sabrina R. Sanford-Flint in the 4th District race.

Voting will take place in the Community Room at 138 E. Hightower Trail.

“These elected officials play vital roles in your community, and their decisions directly affect your day-to-day life,” Secretary of State Brian Kemp, Georgia’s top elections official, said in a statement.

“Your voice needs to be heard at the ballot box to fill these crucial positions.”