By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
SKC, Nisshinbo named local manufacturers of the year
Placeholder Image

SKC and Nisshinbo Automotive were named Newton County's 2012 Manufacturers of the Year because of the industries' continued development in Newton County.

Newton County annually selects its top industries for the year, and those industries then compete for top honors on the statewide level. The winner is named during Manufacturing Appreciation Week, which is April 16-20 this year.

Nisshinbo, a Japan-based automobile brake manufacturer, previously received the chamber's Deal of the Year award for its 2011 expansion which added nearly 50 full-time employees and around $6 million in equipment.

SKC, a South Korean-based producer of specialty films, opened a new plant in September which makes ethylene vinyl acetate film used to encapsulate the solar cells of solar panels to protect them from contamination and physical impacts.

The plant will eventually represent a $100 million investment and will employ 120 workers, according to SKC officials.

"They both had significant investment in the community in capital investment. They also had significant new hires as well as retention of existing workers and they both utilized Quick Start for training," said Shannon Davis, who works with existing industry for the Covington-Newton County Chamber of Commerce. "There are a lot of different pieces that go into their expansions and when you pull in all those different factors they make a nice package. We also always look at community partnerships and these industries are very involved in the Newton County community."

Covington has not had a manufacturer win the statewide Manufacturer of the Year award since the award's inception in 1995.

A manufacturer of the year is chosen in three categories: small, medium and large.

The award was developed by the Technical College System of Georgia and the Georgia Department of Economic Development.

This year's winner will be announced April 19 at the Georgia International Convention Center. For more information visit