By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dixie Boys World Series winners
Placeholder Image

The Dixie Boys World Series is making its fifth apperance in Newton County, and who will win this year's crown?

Newton County's City Pond complex has seen many great Dixie Boys teams since it first held the league's premier event in 1993, here are the ones who rose above the rest.

In 1993 Bossier City, La won the world series, followed by three straight South Carolina teams. Hartsville won both in 1997 and in 2004, followed by Sumter, S.C. in 2008. Will South Carolina claim the crown again or can a team from Georgia win in its home state?

Columbia County was the last Georgia team to win the World Series Crown in 2002, and then repeating in 2003.

With a Newton County team in this year's field, we know who will be the local favorite when the Dixie Boys World Series starts on Aug. 1.