By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Young named to Governor's Education Advisory Board
Placeholder Image

Gov. Nathan Deal today announced the new members who will serve on his Education Advisory Boards. The four boards are comprised of school superintendents, principals, teachers and local school board members from each congressional district who will meet with the governor and his staff over the next year to provide input on education policy issues facing the state.

"Throughout my term, the members of these advisory boards have provided invaluable feedback on policy issues including improving the percentage of Georgia's students reading on grade level by the third grade and encouraging innovation in STEM education," Deal said. "By listening to those on the frontlines, we can make better policy decisions for our educators and students. I'm grateful to these highly regarded professionals who are giving of their time and talents. Our children are our greatest resource, and I look forward to discussing how we can continue to improve educational outcomes for all."

Board members are as follows:

Howard Mann, Glynn County Schools
Daryl Fineran, Peach County Schools
Dr. Marguerite Shook, Thomaston-Upson County Schools
Michael Thurmond, DeKalb County Schools
Dr. Phyllis Edwards, Decatur City Schools
Chris Ragsdale, Cobb County Schools
Dr. Jeffrey Bearden, Forsyth County Schools
Dr. Melinda Dennis, Dodge County Schools
Dr. April Howard, Jackson County Schools
Carole Jean Carey, Warren County Schools
Dr. Howard Hinesley, Cartersville City Schools
Dr. Morris Leis, Coffee County Schools
Dr. Joseph Barrow, Jr., Fayette County Schools
Dr. Michele Taylor, Calhoun City Schools

John Chancey, Wacona Elementary, Ware County Schools
Glenn Tidwell, Marion County Middle/High School, Marion County Schools
Dr. Carol R. Thomas, Centralhatchee Elementary School, Heard County Schools
Jeff Cher, Eastside High School, Newton County Schools
Noel Maloof, Decatur High School, Decatur City Schools
Dr. Carole Brink, Dickerson Middle School, Cobb County Schools
Kerensa Wing, Collins Hill High School, Gwinnett County Schools
Dr. Douglas Rizer, Houston County High School, Houston County Schools
Lori Chastain, Fannin County Middle School, Fannin County Schools
Barry Lollis, Putnam County High School, Putnam County Schools
Dr. Jennifer Scrivner, Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy, Cherokee County Schools
Dr. Ronda Hightower, Wheeler County Elementary School, Wheeler County Schools
Dr. Jolene Morris, Chapel Hill Middle School, Douglas County Schools
Ronnie Bradford, Heritage High School, Catoosa County Schools

Teresa Caldwell, Carver Elementary School, Bryan County
Mary Jean Albritton, Ed.S., Seminole County Middle High School, Seminole County Schools
Debbie Fannin, Inman Elementary, Fayette County Schools
Ashley Rickard, Eastside High School, Newton County Schools
Jennifer Freeman, KIPP STRIVE Academy, Fulton County Schools
Andrew Trowers, East Cobb Middle School, Cobb County Schools
Dr. Tim Mullen, Bay Creek Middle School, Gwinnett County Schools
Beth Davis, Retired, Springdale Elementary, Bibb County Schools
Dr. Martha Cantrell, Habersham Central High School, Habersham County Schools
Elizabeth Proctor, Jasper County High School, Jasper County Schools
Kari Carter, Hamilton Crossing Elementary, Bartow County Schools
Nicole Peeples, Screven County Middle School, Screven County Schools
Courtney Saxon, South Douglas Elementary, Douglas County Schools
Becky Hulsey, Sonoraville Middle School, Gordon County Schools

School board members:
Jane Brown, Camden County Board of Education
Brad Cody, Crawford County Board of Education
Debbie Burdette, Troup County Board of Education
Katrina Young, Rockdale County Board of Education
Charlton Bivins, Clayton County Board of Education
Linda McCain, Fulton County Board of Education
Dr. Mary Kay Murphy, Vice-Chair, Gwinnett County Board of Education
Gary Smith, Chair, Ben Hill County Board of Education
Gary Davenport, Union County Board of Education
John Jackson, Chair, Balwin County Board of Education
Randy Scamihorn, Cobb County Board of Education
Danny Bennett, Jenkins County Board of Education
Josh Hinton, Henry County Board of Education
Louis Fordham, Chair, Whitfield County Board of Education