By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Water Authority appointment deferred
Appointments made to several boards
Placeholder Image

IN BRIEF: The Board of Commissioners made appointments to multiple boards and deferred an appointment to the Water and Sewerage Authority Board.

Commission Chairman Richard Oden and Commissioner JaNice Van Ness were in attendance. Commissioner Oz Nesbitt was not present.

Gerald Rakestraw was appointed to the Conyers Rockdale Economic Development Council, which pursues economic development opportunities for the county and city. He also sits on the Development Authority, which serves as a vehicle for financial instruments and bonds for economic development.

Lewis Carr was appointed to the Conyers-Rockdale Planning Commission.

Jo Carter Harbin and David Hammons were appointed to the Board of Adjustment, which hears appeals on property assessments.

Nigel Pritchard was appointed to the Upper Ocmulgee Resource Conservation Development Council. One county appointment remains open to the Council.

Marcie Howington, director of the Phoenix Pass transitional housing program for homeless women and children, was appointed to the Department of Family and Children's Services Board.

The vote on appointing Arthur Blankenship to the Water and Sewer Authority was deferred. VanNess said Blankenship's background in billings and collection would be an asset to the board and made the motion to appoint him, which died for a lack of a second. Oden said he and water department heads did not know Blankenship and wanted to have an interview with him. The position, which has a term that expires in December 2013, has remained empty since December 2012 when Garvin Haynes left the board.

VanNess agreed after more discussion to defer the matter but said, "I'd like to encourage the authority to make sure these appointments are made in a timely manner."

Rockdale Water Resources Director Dwight Wicks said the Water and Sewer Authority has a quorum, with six of the seven seats filled.