By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rockdale Regional science fair winners announced
IMG 3771-audience

After delays from the snow and ice last week, the Rockdale Regional Science and Engineering Fair, hosted by Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, honored some of Rockdale's brightest young science minds Tuesday night.

In the Senior/High School division, there were 109 projects entered. The Junior/Middle School division saw 64 projects. A total of 229 students participated and 29 judges helped evaluate the projects.

The following students and their projects were awarded in the standing room-only auditorium of Rockdale County High School:


Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) Awards (Winners advance to the ISEF competition in LA in May with an all-expenses paid trip): Aquib Momin, Crystal Brockington and Aaron Barron, Chelse Steel and Larry Jacobs

International Sustainable World (Energy, Engineering &  Environment) Project Olympiad (Winner participates in ISWEEEP competition in Houston, Tex. this spring): Christian Goerner

Broadcom MASTERS (top eight middle school projects, entered into national competition online with chance to win $25,000): Sydney Gaylor and Delaney Willette; Brianna Smith; Yasin Siddiquee; Enya McDaniels and Jacqueline Gomez; CJ Hardnett; Victoria Thomas; Cameron Bennett; Nicole Bourland

NCSSMST Student Research Conference (winners present their research at NCSSSMST Conference at Univ. of Louisville in July): Molly Niemcyzk, Lillith South, Samer Yassin

Grand Champions, High School (advancing to state science fair at UGA in Athens in April): Anna Miller; Marissa Hernandez; Erich Iverson, Michael Smith, Savannah Wegemer; Ambrielle August; Molly Niemczyk; Sonam Brahmbhatt; Mai Nguyen; Robby Raines; Rachel Read; Christian Goerner; Gabe Waddell; Rajuan Nelson; Haley Morabito; BJ Patel, Lilith South; Courtney Hogan; Quincy Blair, Stafford Ross; Faith Cheng, Kim Estick, Sheyenne Rowe; Alexis Mack; Shannon McNeely; Jordan McCray; Alliyah Byrd, Lanaya Jackson; Naomi Siddiquee; Chelse Steele, Larry Jacobs; Ray Garner; Aqib Momin; Samer Yassin; Carlan Ivey; Crystal Brockington, Aaron Barron.

Grand Champions, Middle School (advancing to state science fair at UGA in Athens in April): Sarah Taphom; Sidney Gaylor, Delaney Willette; Sophie Mosely, Abigail Wilcox; Brianna Smith; Nicole Bourland; Brandon Hong; Cameron Bennett; Victoria Thomas; CJ Hardnett; Madeline Burkey, Laney Norton; Asiah McWhorter; Jacqueline Gomez, Enya McDaniels; Yasin Siddiquee.


Specialty Awards

Yale Science and Engineering Association, Inc. Award: Aaron Barron and Crystal Brockington

US Public Health Service Award: Sonam Brahmbhatt

US Air Force Award: Carlan Ivey, Molly Niemczyk, Anna Miller, Marissa Hernandez

US Navy and Marine Corps Award: Junior Division - Ashlyn Williams, Zachary Ransom; Senior Division - Lilith South, BJ Patel, Sonam Brahmbhatt

US Metric Association: Ray Garner

Stockholm Junior Water Prize (top water related projects): Jordan Dobson, Alex Norwood; Tiffany Adjmul, Sierra Turpin; Sydney Norton, Natalie Smith.

Ricoh Sustainable Development Award: Rachel Read

Society for In Vitro Biology Award: Aminah Matthews, Sidney Billingsley

NOAA Taking the Pulse of the Planet Award: Christian Goerner

Mu Alpha Theta Award (mathematics honor society): Jeremy Rachels

Intel Excellence in Computer Science Award: Aqib Momin

Ida Bruce Environmental Science Awards: Jake Scheaffer

ASM Materials Education Foundation: Jordan Dobson, Alex Norwood

Association for Women Geoscientists: Melissa Sharpe

Doubting Thomas Award: Patrick Massie, Jude Baquet

American Psychological Association Award: Molly Niemczyk

American Meterological Society: Aaron Barron, Crystal Brockington

Laura Anschutz Memorial Award: Stephanie Bryan-Popo