By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Post 77 celebrates awards, installs new officers

American Legion Post 77 had a lot to celebrate as it held its annual officer installation ceremony and banquet on July 26. Conyers Post 77 had been named Outstanding Post of the Year in Georgia for 2012.

The Post 77 American Legion officers sworn in that night for  2013-2014 are Art Darr as Commander, Butch Henson as Senior Vice Commander, Larry Rodriguez and Joe Neely as Junior Vice Commanders; Jim Crutchfield as Adjutant; Jack Murphy as Finance Officer, Fred Riggins as Chaplain; Eboney Whaley as Service Officer; Natalie Hannans as Sergeant at Arms; and Bobby Davis as Judge Advocate.

The 2013-2014 Post 77 Auxiliary officers are President, Kristie Stewart; First Vice President, Shirley Darr, Second Vice President, Barbara Hudson; Secretary, Kathy Noblin; Treasurer, Jeanie Draper, Historian, Rosa  Fryer; Chaplain Lena Stegall; and Sergeants at Arms, Susan Kraus and Nancy Kinnard.

The 2013-2014 Post 77 Sons of the American Legion officers are Commander, Butch Henson; Senior Vice Commander, Terry Stewart; Junior Vice Commander, Shawn Hannans; Adjutant and Finance Officer, Jim Crutchfield; Sergeant at Arms, Rusty Evers; and Chaplain, Carl Morgan.

Adjutant Jim Crutchfield was named Legionnaire of the Year.

The post also highlighted Rockdale County Sheriff's Office Deputy Shasta Duren as the Post's Law Enforcement Officer of the Year.