By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Pine Street named School of Excellence
Placeholder Image



Congressional District, School, System
1. Matilda Harris Elementary, Camden County
2. Potter Street Elementary, Decatur County
3. Rosemont Elementary, Troup County
4. Pine Street Elementary, Rockdale County
5. Clairemont Elementary, City Schools of Decatur
6. Sprayberry High, Cobb County
7. Level Creek Elementary, Gwinnett County
8. Heard-Mixon Elementary, Newton County
9. Settles Bridge Elementary, Forsyth County
10. Demorest Elementary, Habersham County
11. Hillgrove High, Cobb County
12. Heard Elementary, Savannah-Chatham County
13. Stockbridge Elementary, Henry County


Congressional District, School, System
1. Oglethorpe Point Elementary, Glynn County
2. Westside Elementary, Lowndes County
3. Peeples Elementary, Fayette County
4. Oak Grove Elementary, DeKalb County
5. Morningside Elementary, Atlanta Public Schools
6. Vanderlyn Elementary, DeKalb County
7. Shiloh Point Elementary, Forsyth County
8. Alexander II Magnet, Bibb County
9. Vickery Creek Elementary, Forsyth County
10. Stevens Creek Elementary, Columbia County
11. Jones Elementary, Bremen City
12 Savannah Arts Academy, Savannah-Chatham County
13. Holly Springs Elementary, Douglas County


Pine Street Elementary was named one of 26 Schools of Excellence by the Georgia Department of Education for 2011, for showing the greatest improvements in its congressional district.

 The Georgia Schools of Excellence are honored in two categories. Qualifying schools are chosen from each Congressional District in the following categories:

- Top 10%: Schools that are in the top 10 percent in Georgia as measured by assessments in reading and mathematics.
- Greatest Gains: Schools that demonstrated greatest continuous gains in student achievement for the past three years as measured by assessments in reading and mathematics.

Pine Street Elementary was recognized in the Greatest Gains category for the Fourth Congressional District.

“Pine Street is truly excited about this announcement,” said Principal Kim Vier. “Excellence is what we strive for each day. Being a Georgia School of Excellence is recognition of the hard work of our staff, students, and parents, and for that, we are truly honored."

“I congratulate Principal Kim Vier, the administrative staff, teachers, support staff, students, and parents for receiving this outstanding recognition,” said Dr. Samuel King, superintendent of Rockdale County Public Schools. “This accomplishment is the result of a team approach for continuous improvement which centers on the individual needs of all students.”   

Each of the Georgia Schools of Excellence will recieve a $1,000 check from Georgia Natural Gas as a "True Blue School" and be honored at a banquet in February at the Georgia World Congress Center. United Healthcare is also a sponsor for the 2011 Schools of Excellence program.

Additionally, in order to be considered for the recognition, a school must:
1. Meet AYP for a minimum of three consecutive years
2. Meet or exceed state mean scores in Science and Social Studies (with the exception of K-2 schools, which do not test in this area)
3. Not be considered a “Persistently Dangerous School” under the Unsafe School Choice Option of No Child Left Behind
4. Offer a minimum of two AP courses (grades 9-12 only)
5. Be in existence for five years

Schools that have been recognized as a Georgia School of Excellence in the past five years are not eligible to win again Unless the only school or schools eligible to receive the honor in a certain district have won within the last five years. If no schools qualify in a specific Congressional District, an award is not given. 

 For more information, go to