By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hospital Authority appoints new members
Placeholder Image

IN BRIEF: The Hospital Authority of Rockdale County unanimously approved the appointment of two new members to the board: Dr. Forrest Doud, who had previously served on the board until his term expired in 2010, and Certified Public Accountant Lorraine Kelley. The terms of member Terry Taschwer and chair Ethyl Boyle expired in September.

Other nominees for the seats were Aldren Sadler Jr., Sue Chappell, Evelyn Cooksey, and Elizabeth DeGive.

Member Norma Henley, of the governance subcommitee, said "The persons we interviewed are all top-notch."

The board also approved a change to the bylaws, with eight members of the nine member board voting and one absent, to create the position of chairman emeritus. The outgoing chairperson of the HARC board would then become a non-voting member of the board for one year. Chairwoman Ethyl Boyle, whose term just finished, will become the first chairman emeritus.

Member Benny Atkins, who was not present, was voted as the next chair.

Boyle said of Atkins, "He's excited about doing this."