By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Honey Creek Elementary named as national Blue Ribbon School
Placeholder Image


- Alice Coachman Elementary School, Dougherty County
- Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary School, Atlanta Public Schools
- DeKalb School of the Arts, DeKalb County
- Hightower Trail Middle School, Cobb County
- Honey Creek Elementary School, Rockdale County
- Trion High School, Trion City Schools
- Tunnel Hill Elementary School, Whitfield County

- Holy Redeemer Catholic School, Johns Creek
- Holy Spirit Preparatory School, Atlanta
- Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School, Atlanta
- Our Lady of Victory Catholic School, Tyrone
- St. Francis Xavier Catholic School, Brunswick

Honey Creek Elementary was among the seven Georgia public schools named 2009 National Blue Ribbon Schools today.

Only 314 public and private schools achieved this status, out of more than 120,000 public and private schools in the nation.

"I am thrilled that Honey Creek has received the National Blue Ribbon Award," said Principal Dr. Carolyn Ormsby. "In my 39 years as an educator, I have never known a more dedicated staff, more supportive parents, or a greater group of students than we have at Honey Creek. I'm still in awe that Honey Creek was selected as one of eight schools in Georgia which includes all public elementary, middle, and high schools and all private schools to receive this award. We are truly honored."

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either academically superior or have made dramatic gains in student achievement to high levels, especially among disadvantaged students. In addition, public schools must meet Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). Honey Creek Elementary has achieved AYP every year since the accountability measure was established under the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. According to the U.S. Department of Education, Blue Ribbon Schools are models of improved student achievement from which others can take inspiration.

"The students, teachers, parents, and administrators at Honey Creek have worked hard to achieve this honor," said Rockdale County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Samuel T. King. "We are proud of their diligence and dedication, and we look forward to the continued success of students throughout our district as we strive to provide every child the opportunity for a quality education." The Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes schools that are making significant gains in this area.

State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox praised Georgia's seven newly named Blue Ribbon schools. "These seven schools are outstanding examples of how high expectations and hard work can lead to outstanding student achievement," said Cox. "These schools show that, regardless of a school's size, geography or demographics, all students can achieve at high levels."

The No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools award distinguishes and honors schools for helping students achieve at very high levels and for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap. Blue Ribbon Schools are chosen in one of three categories:

- TOP 10%: Schools that scored in the top 10 percent in student achievement.
- TOP 10%: (40% Disadvantaged): Schools that scored in the top 10 percent in student achievement AND have at least 40 percent of its students considered economically disadvantaged.
- GREATEST GAINS: Schools with at least 40 percent economically disadvantaged students that have dramatically improved student achievement to high levels.

Five Georgia private schools also were named National Blue Ribbon schools. The selection process for private schools is different. For more information, go to

Georgia's winning schools will join other national winners at an awards ceremony on November 3 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Blue Ribbon Schools program, go to the Blue Ribbon Schools website at