By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Flood watch instead of flash flood watch issued
Placeholder Image

UPDATED: The Flash Flood watch issued by the National Weather Service  has been replaced with a flood watch for the following counties until Wedneday:


Baldwin; Barrow; Bibb; Butts; Carroll; Clarke; Clayton; Cobb; Coweta; Crawford; De Kalb; Douglas; Fayette; Greene; Gwinnett; Hancock; Haralson; Harris; Heard; Henry; Jackson; Jasper; Jones; Lamar; Madison; Meriwether; Monroe; Morgan; Muscogee; Newton; North Fulton; Oconee; Oglethorpe; Paulding; Pike; Putnam; Rockdale; South Fulton; Spalding; Talbot; Taliaferro; Troup; Upson; Walton; Warren; Wilkes



The National Weather Service issued a Flash Flood watch for most of central Georgia until 1 p.m.  The flash flood watch includes several Georgia cities, including Atlanta, Athens, Columbus, LaGrange and Macon.

Recent rainfall has made the soil very moist across central Georgia. Additional heavy rain may lead to flash flooding along streams, creeks and rivers. 

Drivers are advised not to cross roadways covered with moving water.