By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Economic Development Council votes on director
Placeholder Image

The Conyers-Rockdale Economic Development Council has reportedly voted and selected an executive director from among the finalists for the position. The council will present its selection to the City Council on Wednesday and the Board of Commissioners, which has a Tuesday evening work session, for approval.

The short list of candidates had been narrowed from 18 applicants to three - a fourth finalist dropped their bid after accepting another job - by a selection subcommittee composed of Chairman Richard Oden, Mayor Randy Mills and City Councilman Vince Evans.

For this final selection, all nine members of the board served to comprise the interview panel. The members on the Conyers-Rockdale Economic Development Council are Chairman Randy Mills, Evans, Mike Sullivan, Commissioner Oz Nesbitt, Danny Stone, Brad Smith, Roland Vaughn, Gerald Rakestraw, Mike Houchard, Rick Simons.

The search for the new executive director began 10 months ago when previous director Glenn Sears retired from what was technically a 30-hour per week job. The CREDC board decided to make the position a full-time post. The position was re-advertised in August after the Rockdale County Development Authority offered to chip in $25,000 more per year for three more years, increasing the salary from about $60,000 to $85,000 a year, in an effort to attract a wider pool of candidates.

The Board of Commissioners will meet 6 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 5, at the JP Carr Community Room, 981 Taylor Street. City Council will meet at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 6 at 1194 Scott Street.