By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Conyers Rotary Senior Awards

Best of the best: High school seniors from Rockdale County High School, Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, and Heritage High School were recognized and awarded at the April 22 Conyers Rotary luncheon for excellence in particular subject areas.

 (Students pictured above, in no particular order, and the schools they plan to attend) Rockdale County High School: Natassia Buckridge – Science (Auburn), Quirtina Crittenden – Social Studies (Spellman), Kevin Dawkins – Foreign Language (Andrew College), Lindsey Geise – English (Ga. Tech), Drew Hardy – Performing Arts (Coastal Carolina), Annalisha Hield – Art (not pictured), Dean Loverling – Music (Southern Polytechnic State University), Jadai McGee – Vocational Education (not pictured), Xavier Mollette – Physical Education (Savannah State University), Janess O’Kane – ROTC (Tuskeegee), Deidre Rodriguez – Math (Ohio State University)

 Rockdale Magnet School: Peyton Fanning – Magnet Science (Mercer University), Edwin White – Magnet Math (Ga. Tech)

 Heritage High School: Claire Ginnane – English, Kathleen Goggans – Performing Arts (University of Georgia), Kayla Harry – ROTC (Florida State University), Jenna Huckaby – Social Studies (UGA honors), Rufus Jenkins, Jr. – Physical Education (Brevard College), Loren Towers – Art (North Georgia State and College), Kimberly Twiggs – Foreign Language (Valdosta State), Tiffany Wands – Music (Georgia State University), Olivia Wasdin – Math (Ga. Tech), Kylie Webb – Science (Auburn), Ethan Wright – Vocational Education (Georgia Perimeter College).

 Henrietta Carr also was named the winner of a $500 scholarship from Rotary for her essay on the impact of the Interact club (the high school branch of Rotary) in her life. She will be attending Emmanuel College in Franklin Springs, Ga.