By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Community Standouts
Janice and Tolbert Morris, founders of the Helping Hands free medical clinic, were the second award recipients.

State of the County

The County awarded two Charles P. Cole Citizen Involvement Award this year at its State of the County address.

Don Patterson, a former volunteer of the year for the state in 1999, was recognized for his four decades of work in areas such as coaching, serving on the SPLOST and HOST oversight committees and working with the Parks and Recreation Department.

Janice and Tolbert Morris, founders of the Helping Hands free medical clinic, were the second award recipients. The clinic is run with 53 volunteers and eight nurses and treats an estimated 63 patients a week, according to the Morrises

State of the City

Charles Drake, winner of the 2009 Dee Buggay Award of Excellence. Drake, an employee of the city since 1994, was unanimously chosen for this award, said Brad Sutton, director of the Public Works and Transportation Department. "Charles is such a hard worker," said Sutton. "He gets along well with everybody. He volunteers for everything the city has going on. He takes a lot of pride in all of his work also."

Chamber Annual Meeting

2009 Conyers-Rockdale Chamber of Commerce Board Chair John Kelley of Georgia Power, right, to passes the gavel to 2010 Board Chair Bill Daniels, of United Community Bank.

The A.R. Barksdale Lifetime Achievement Award went to Bill Hughley, presented by John Kelley, left, and Ron Simpson, right.

Former Board Chair Betty Straw Brown, left, and 2009 Chair John Kelley, right, present the Beautification Award to the City of Conyers, accepted by Mayor Randy Mills, for the city’s West Avenue beautification project.

The Community Spirit award went to Conyers First Baptist Church and was accepted by Senior Pastor Jeff Meyers. Award presented by John Kelley, left, and Sue Chappell, right.

The James. P. Culpepper award for committee chair went to David Shipp, center, chair of the Chamber’s government committee. John Kelley and Mike Hilleboe, a past board chair, presented the award.

The Step up to the Plate award was presented by Elly Dalton to winner Lorraine Harrison, right