By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sen. Jeffares chair of Senate ethics
Placeholder Image

Sen. Rick Jeffares, R- Locust Grove, has been named Chairman of the Senate Ethics Committee for the 2013- 2014 legislative term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

"It is an honor to be appointed to serve as Chairman of the Senate Ethics Committee," said Jeffares. "I look forward to serving on this committee and will work tirelessly to ensure a greater level of trust and transparency while we conduct business at the state capitol."

Jeffares, who represents the eastern half of Newton County as well as portions of Henry and Rockdale counties, was also recently appointed to serve as the Governor's administrative floor leader. He currently serves as the Vice Chairman of the Natural Resources and the Environment Committee and Secretary of the Economic Development Committee. In addition, he is a member of the Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee.

"I'm humbled to preside over a Senate that is strongly unified and filled with individuals that are hard-working, intelligent and dedicated to solving problems," Lieutenant Governor Cagle said. "I look forward to working hand-in-hand with Chairman Jeffares, who is extremely well-versed and passionate about this important subject matter, to deliver Georgians real results on the major issues facing this State."

"We are fortunate to have a wealth of talent and experience in the State Senate," said President Pro Tem David Shafer (R-Duluth). "I have every confidence in our new committee leadership team."

Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic. If the Committee gives the legislation a "do pass" recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration. The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

The 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 14, 2013 at the Georgia State Capitol.

Jeffares can be reached by phone at 404.656.0503 or by e-mail at