By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rotary inducts Paul Harris Fellows, entertains district governor
Placeholder Image
Paul Harris Fellows

Donors of $1,000 or more to the Rotary Foundation's Annual Programs Fund, PolioPlus or the Humanitarian Grants Program, or people who have that amount contributed in their name, can be recognized as Paul Harris Fellows. Each new Paul Harris Fellow receives a commemorative certificate and a pin. Increasing donation amounts make Rotarians eligible for "multi-stone" fellow status.

First-time fellows
Pat Cavanaugh
Tracey Clark
Brook Collins
Tommy Davis
Elsie Hathorn
Wayne Hathorn
Nancy Mock
Alice Queen
Carter Rogers
Pat Roseberry
Judy Smith
Vicki Stafford
Mike Whatley

Multi-stone fellows
Doug Bolton
Stuart Hamilton
Steve Hathorn
Mike Lassiter
Ricky Mock
Greg Pope
Jerry Roseberry
Betty Shaw
Billie Jean Whatley
Steve Whatley


Rotary District Governor Shane Burr of Canton visited the Covington Rotary Club Tuesday. He spoke about Rotary's priorities for 2009 - water and sanitation, health and hunger, and literacy - as well as participating in the Biggest Loser Polio Plus Challenge. He encouraged club members to attend Georgia Rotary's state convention at Jekyll Island. He also commended the Covington Rotary for inducting 50 Paul Harris Fellows in the past two years.

"I want to recognize what those truly represent," Burr said of Paul Harris Fellow awards, "and that is exceptional service and giving."