By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Race for Superior Court judge only countywide choice for Newton voters
Advance voting begins Monday for Aug. 11 runoff election; school board, county commission races on some ballots

COVINGTON, Ga. — All Newton County voters will have a choice between two attorneys to fill a Superior Court judgeship when advance voting begins for the Aug. 11 runoff election Monday, July 20. 

But only Democratic voters in two districts in Covington and northern Newton County will choose their party’s nominees for seats on the school board and board of commissioners. 

Only one location will be available for in-person advance voting before Election Day Aug. 11, said election director Angela Mantle.

Voters can make their choices Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Aug. 7 at the Newton County Administration Building at 1113 Usher St. in Covington. 

All Newton County voters can vote in the race for Alcovy Judicial Circuit Superior Court judge between Monroe attorney Jeffrey Foster and Covington attorney Robert H. Stansfield. 

The nonpartisan election will decide who will replace Superior Court Judge Eugene Benton, who has announced he will retire at the end of this year.

Foster was the top vote-getter in the three-person election June 9 with 37% — far below the 50% plus one vote required to avoid a runoff. 

Stansfield earned a spot in the runoff election narrowly over fellow Newton County resident Cheveda McCamy June 9. Stansfield finished second with 32% of the vote compared to McCamy’s 31%.    

Other races some Newton County voters will see to choose Democratic Party nominees include:

• Casey Duren vs. Dorothy Piedrahita for Newton County Board of Commissioners District 5.

The winner will face Republican incumbent Ronnie Cowan in the November general election. District 5 stretches from Social Circle in the north to Mixon Elementary School in the south.

• Anderson Bailey vs. Jeffrey Johnson for Newton County Board of Education District 4. 

The winner will be unopposed in the November general election and will replace the late Almond Turner, who died in November 2019. District 4 stretches from Alcovy Road near I-20 in the north to South Salem Elementary School in the south and includes much of the city of Oxford.

Voters can visit the My Voter Page at the Georgia Secretary of State’s website to verify their polling location and see which races will be on their ballot. The link is 

However, only those who voted in the Democratic primary June 9 will be eligible to vote in either the county commission or school board runoff elections. 

No Saturday voting will be offered during advance voting for the runoff, officials said. 

 The deadline to apply for an absentee ballot for the runoff election is Aug. 5 at 5 p.m. 

Voters must have their absentee ballots at the election office at the Newton County Administration Building at 1113 Usher St. by 7 p.m. on Election Day, Aug. 11, to be counted, Mantle said. 

An absentee ballot drop box for Newton County ballots only is available and located at the north entrance of the administration building, Mantle said.

All 22 polling locations will be open on Aug. 11 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

For more information, call 770-784-2055 or visit  

Robert Stansfield
Robert Stansfield - photo by Special to The Covington News
Judge Jeffrey Foster
Judge Jeffrey Foster - photo by Special to The Covington News
Anderson Bailey
Board of Education candidate Anderson Bailey
Jeffrey Johnson
Jeffrey Johnson