By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newton represented in merger committee
Placeholder Image

One of the first steps in consolidating Georgia State University and Georgia Perimeter College is a implementation committee, helping to find ways to make the two institutions blend together.

On Wednesday University System of Georgia Chancellor Hank Huckaby appointed that committee, which will have its first meeting Friday, Jan. 30.

Among the 42 committee members half are from GPC with three having ties to the Newton County Campus.
Dr. Susan Finazzo, worked at the Newton Campus for many years, Todd Hendricks teaches math there and Sri Rajasekaran is the Newton Campus Student Government Association President. All three will report for duty with the committee at the USG System Office for the implementation meeting.

Finazzo is an Associate Professor, the Dean of Institutional Effectiveness and SACS Liaison of GPC and Hendricks is an associate professor and Chair of the Promotion and Tenure Committee at the college.

The committee will provide regular updates to the campus communities. Information about the proposed consolidation is available at

The entire implementation committee consists of:

Georgia Perimeter College Members

GPC President Rob Watts

India Blackburn, Assistant Dean of Students, Alpharetta Campus

Dr. John Clower, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs

Debra Denzer, Associate Professor and Chair of the GPC Faculty Senate

Jamie Fernandes, Assistant Vice President for Financial and Administrative Affairs/Budget Director

Dr. Susan Finazzo, Associate Professor, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness and SACS Liaison

Dr. Sheila Garland, Associate Professor and Dean of Health Sciences

Scott Hardy, Chair, GPC Alumni Association

Todd Hendricks, Associate Professor and Chair of the Promotion and Tenure Committee

Diane Hickey, Associate Vice President for Financial and Administrative Affairs

Mark Hoeting, Assistant Vice President/Chief Information Officer

Dr. Paul Hudson, Professor and Recipient of the 2014 Governor’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Humanities

Kara Kennebrew, Chair of the GPC Staff Senate

Barbara Obrentz, Chief Public Information Officer and Director of Marketing

Dan O’Leary, Chair of the GPC Foundation

Sri Rajasekaran, Student Government Association President, Newton Campus

Jim Rasmus, Executive Director of Human Resources

Sally Robertson, Associate Professor, Immediate Past Chair of the GPC Faculty Senate, Current Chair of the University

System of Georgia Faculty Council

Jeff Tarnowski, Vice President for Advancement

Dr. Ingrid Thompson-Sellers, Associate Professor and Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs

Julius Whitaker, Executive Director of Library Services and Interim Director of Policy and Governance

Georgia State University Members

Georgia State President Mark Becker

Dr. Nathan Bennett, Associate Dean for Faculty & Research, Robinson College of Business

Dr. Gwen Benson, Associate Dean for School, Community & International Partnerships, College of Education

Dr. Allison Calhoun-Brown, Assistant Vice President for Student Retention

Dr. Sara Cook, Associate Dean, Honors College

Dr. Joan Cranford, Director, School of Nursing (Interim)

Dr. Dabney Dixon, Chair, University Senate Committee on Sustainability

Dr. Jonathon Gayles, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Learning, College of Arts & Sciences

Charles Gilbreath, Chair Staff Council, Director of Institutional Research (OIR)

Lanier Henson, President SGA

Dr. Darryl Holloman, Dean of Students

Andrea Jones, Associate Vice President for Public Relations and Marketing Communications

Dr. Peter Lyons, Professor and Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness

Bharath Parthasarathy, J.D., Deputy General Counsel

Dr. George Rainbolt, Chair, University Senate Committee on Planning & Development

Russell Dylan Ruediger, Graduate Student Representative

Bruce Spratt, Associate Vice President for Finance and Comptroller

Tammy Sugarman, Dean of Libraries (Interim)

Phil Ventimiglia, Chief Innovation Officer

Dr. Mary Beth Walker, Dean, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies

Dr. Sara Weigle, Chair, University Senate Committee on Admissions & Standards