By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
News, chamber to hold primary forum
Placeholder Image

Several local races will be contested in this year's primary election, two of which will be decided completely, and The Covington News and Covington-Newton County Chamber of Commerce are hosting a forum for local contested races from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. Thursday at The Center for Community Preservation and Planning, 2104 Washington St. Covington.

The News and chamber will each ask candidates district-specific questions, but the public is encouraged to submit questions. Questions can be submitted ahead of time via email to, and attendees will also be able to submit questions in writing the night of the debate.

Each individual political race will be handled separately. Once the candidates for a race have finished answering their questions, the candidates for the next race will then take the stage.

The forum will be videotaped, and portions of it will be posted online at

The Newton County Farm Bureau will also be on hand to provide drinks and snacks.

Below is a list of the candidates that have been invited and the order in which they will answer questions:

County Chairman - Democrat
Kathy Morgan (incumbent)
Marcus Jordan

Board of Commissioners (BOC), District 1 - Republican
John Douglas
John Strauss

BOC, District 3 - Democrat
Nancy Schulz (incumbent)
Tony Flanagan

Board of Education, District 4 - Democrat
Almond Turner (incumbent)
Franklin Perry

BOC, District 5 - Democrat
Marcello Banes
Philip Johnson

BOC, District 5 - Republican
Ronnie Dimsdale
Wesley Dowdy
Levie Maddox
Jared Rutberg

Sheriff - Republican
Phillip Bradford
Bill Watterson