By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Municipal elections set for November
Covington Mayor, Ronnie Johnston unapposed
Placeholder Image

The mayors of Newton County will run unopposed in this year’s municipal elections.

The qualifying period for candidates ended end of business Friday, after running through the week. Only a few seats out of all this year’s candidates will be opposed.

Mayors Ronnie Johnston, of Covington, Jerry Roseberry, of Oxford, Arline Chapman, of Porterdale and Jefferson Riley, of Mansfield will not have their seats contested come Nov. 3.

In Covington, all three council seats up for election will have two candidates. For Post 1, West Ward, incumbent Janet Goodman will be contested with Kenneth Morgan; for Post 2, East Ward, incumbent Michael Whatley will be contested with Eric Threets and in Post 3, East Ward, incumbent Keith Dalton will be contested with Joshua McKelvey.

There are no contested seats in Porterdale, with Aneta Rainey not seeking election, and Terry Gray filing for the open seat in Post 1. Porterdale, however, will still host an election due to a referendum on the urban redevelopment authority’s powers.

In Oxford, Michael Ready and Jeffrey Wearing both qualified for the Post 3 seat, but incumbent Lyn Pace did not file. Sarah Davis will run uncontested in Post 1 and George Holt in Post 2.