By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Last week to vote early
Placeholder Image

This is the last week for early voting before the 2014 Primary Election Tuesday, May 20.

Early voting is taking place this week at two locations through Friday:

• Newton County Administration Building, 1113 Usher St. NW, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
• Porter Memorial Branch Library, 6181 Ga. Highway 212, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

As of 8 a.m. Monday, 1,360 people had voted early in office and an additional 309 had returned mail-in ballots.

As of April 2 – which doesn’t capture people registering right before the deadline – there were 54,997 registered voters, meaning at most three percent of registered voters had cast a ballot prior to this week.

While several seats aren’t contested in the primary — or at all for that matter, including all three local school board seats and both state senate seats — there are also a few races will be decided solely in the primary.

Here’s the full list of contested primary elections (an asterisk means the race will be decided totally in the primary):

• Board of Commissioners, District 2, Democratic:
   o incumbent Lanier Sims
   o Earnest Simmons

• *Board of Commissioners, District 4, Democratic:
   o Incumbent J.C. Henderson
   o Sonya Hunte
   o Jacquelyn Smith

• State House District 112, Republican:
   o Dave Belton
   o Aaron Brooks
   o Ester Fleming

• *State House District 113, Democratic:
   o Incumbent Pam Dickerson
   o Sharon Sawyer

• *U.S. House District 4, Democratic:
   o Incumbent Hank Johnson
   o Tom Brown

• U.S. House District 10, Republican:
   o Brian Slowinski
   o Donna Sheldon
   o Gary Gerrard
   o Jody Hice
   o Mike Collins
   o Mitchell Swan
   o Stephen Simpson

The U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Saxby Chambliss and the Republican side of the governor’s race will also be contested in the primary, along with other statewide seats.

Election Day
Come Election Day, voters will need to go to their assigned polling place to cast their ballot. Voters can verify their polling location by visiting the My Voter Page at the Secretary of State’s website at 

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.