By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Into the Lion's Den
Placeholder Image

Ken Royston takes the helm: On Thursday, June 25, Royston and 14 officers were installed as the 2009 – 2010 officers and Board of Directors for the Covington Lions at their Officer Installation Banquet at their Pavilion on Conyers Street. Richard Henderson, District Governor, of the Oxford Lions officiated. Present, from left to right, were, front row, Doreen Stallworth, Minnie Henderson and Anne Wheeler, back row, Phil Owens, Lee Mayfield, Andy Austin, Dacus Aaron, Elwood Free, Frank Jensen, Jimmy Williams, Randy Worthington, Ken Royston and Ed Minge (Mike Waller was not available).

Fellow Lions voted Doreen Stallworth "Lion of the Year." It’s her thought that her plaque is a huge puzzle and that each Lion is a piece of that puzzle and at every project, the pieces of the puzzle come together to work as a team to accomplish that goal. Doreen is pictured with last year’s Lion of the Year Mike Free.

Past recipients awarded the prestigious "Melvin Jones Fellow" to Mike Free for his active dedication to the Club. Mike’s name will be added to the Lions Headquarters’ Melvin Jones Fellow electronic board that rotates worldwide recipient names 24/7. Mike is pictured with Richard Brown, Past District Governor, also of the Covington Lions.

Please go to their Web site for more exciting information.