By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Farm Bureau hosting meet and greet
Placeholder Image

What: Local, state and federal candidate meet and greet
When: 6-8 p.m., May 1
Where: Outside the Newton County Farm Bureau, 10386 U.S. Highway 278, Covington
Why: Learn more before the May 20 Primary and/or free homemade ice cream

Ask the candidates some questions and enjoy some homemade strawberry ice cream May 1 at the Newton County Farm Bureau’s candidate meet and greet.

All local, state and federal candidates that represent any portion of Newton County and who face opposition in the primary have been invited. The event is from 6-8 p.m., Thursday, May 1 outside the Farm Bureau’s office, 10386 U.S. Highway 278, Covington.

Office Manager Crystal Powell-Hyatt said candidates will have booth or tables set up on the property and so attendees can come up and talk to the candidates they choose.

“There are forums, but it’s really nice to walk up and talk to them about what your concerns, not just hear them address somebody else’s concerns,” Powell-Hyatt said. “This is the first time we’ve done this, so we hope it turns out well.”

Powell-Hyatt said the Farm Bureau has always been involved in agriculture events and causes, but officials noticed they were losing touch with elected officials and is trying to restore those relationships.

“We had (U.S. Rep.) Hank Johnson out on the farm last year and showed him around, and he was one of the congressmen who voted on the farm bill for us. So when things come up, like the farm bill or the gun ordinance (locally), we want to make sure they don’t affect agriculture in a negative way.”

And for those less passionate about politics, there will be homemade strawberry ice cream provided free of charge by Mitcham Farms.

The candidates who have confirmed they’ll be attending as of Thursday are:
State House, District 95
Pam Dickerson (D), incumbent

State House, District 112
Dave Belton (R)
Aaron Brooks (R)
Ester Fleming (R)
Patsy Harris (D)

U.S. Senate (seat being vacated by Saxby Chambliss)
O. "Steen" Miles (D)
David Perdue (R)

Branko "Rad" Radulovscki (D)

U.S. House, District 10 (seat being vacated by Paul Broun)
Garry Garrard (R)
Donna Sheldon (R)
Stephen Simpson (R)