By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting starts for November ballot
State Senate 43 special election, Covington City Council, Porterdale Referendum on ballot
Placeholder Image

Many people might not realize but the polls are already open for early voting in the State Senate District 43 special election and Covington City Council.

Early voting runs Oct. 12-30, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday to Friday and also Saturday, Oct. 24, 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. There is only one poll location for in-person early voting - the Newton County Board of Elections office at the Newton County Administration Building, 1113 Usher St. in Covington.

Voters must bring one of the following forms of photo ID:
Georgia drivers license, even if expired;
Photo ID card issued by any state or the U.S. Government;
United States passport;
Government employee photo ID card;
United States military ID card with photo;
Tribal ID card with photo.

For absentee voting, the absentee ballot application can be picked up from the Board of Elections office at 1113 Usher Street, Covington, or downloaded at

Or a copy of the application can be mailed upon request; contact the Board of Elections office during business hours at 770-784-2055. The last day the Board of Elections can mail an absentee voting application is Oct. 30.

The filled out absentee voting application may be returned by mail, fax or email as an attachment or delivered in person to the Board of Elections Office at:
1113 Usher Street, Suite 103
P.O. Box 1274
Covington, GA 30015
Fax: 770-784-2057

For Election Day on Nov. 3, voters must go to their assigned precinct polls. To find out where is your poll and to check the status of your voter registration, or request an absentee ballot, visit or contact the Board of Elections office during business hours 770-784-2055.

This information is also on the free “My Voter Page” app, available on Apple and Android phones. To download the app search for “GA Votes” in the app store.

Nine people are on the ballot for the State Senate District 43 Special Election, including two Newton County residents - Sharon Sawyer and Marcus Jordan. The election was called to fill the remaining year in the term after the seat was vacated after former Sen. Ronald Ramsey was appointed as a DeKalb State Court judge Although this special election is nonpartisan and candidates can choose to declare a party affiliation or no affiliation, there are five candidates declared as Democrats, three declared as Republicans and one with no party affiliation. The candidates are: communications specialist Angela Moore (no affiliation), business owner Diane Adoma (Republican), business owner/educator JaNice Frey Van Ness (Republican), Newton County's Chief Appraiser Marcus Jordan (Democrat), contractor Rodney Upton (Democrat), financial analyst Sharon Griffin Sawyer (Democrat), retired consultant/businessman Stan Williams (Democrat), former State House District 92 Rep. and life coach Tonya P. Anderson (Democrat), retired man William "Bill" Kennedy (Republican).

Candidates running in the nonpartisan Covington City Council elections are:
Council Post 1 West Ward - Janet Goodman (incumbent), Kenneth L. Morgan
Council Post 2 East Ward - Eric D. Threets, Michael Whatley (incumbent)
Council Post 3 East Ward - Keith Dalton (incumbent), Joshua Thomas McKelvey

The mayors for all municipalities in Newton are up for election but incumbents are running unopposed – Covington Mayor Ronnie Johnston, Porterdale Mayor Arline Chapman, Oxford Mayor Jerry Roseberry, Mansfield Mayor Jefferson Riley.