By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
A look at Covington's 2015 election
Placeholder Image

The signs dotting Covington is proof that election season is upon us.

Many already knew that fact by punching their ballots during the early voting period at the Newton County Administration Building’s Board of Elections Office, which ends Oct. 30 at 4 p.m. For those not inclined to vote early, Election Day is Nov. 3 at assigned polls throughout the county.

Races affecting Newton County are for three Covington city council seats and a special election for State Senate District 43.

Covington City Council - Click on each name for a story on the individual candidate.

Council Post 1 West Ward

Janet Goodman (incumbent)

Kenneth L. Morgan

Council Post 2 East Ward

Eric D. Threets

Michael Whatley (incumbent)

Council Post 3 East Ward

Keith Dalton (incumbent)

Joshua Thomas McKelvey


State Senate District 43
Angela Moore (no affiliation), communications specialist
Diane Adoma (Republican), business owner
JaNice Frey Van Ness (Republican), business owner/educator
Marcus Jordan (Democrat), Newton County's Chief Appraiser
Rodney Upton (Democrat), contractor
Sharon Griffin Sawyer (Democrat), financial analyst
Stan Williams (Democrat), retired consultant/businessman
Tonya P. Anderson (Democrat), former State House District 92 Rep. and life coach
William "Bill" Kennedy (Republican). Retiree


Covington Mayor Ronnie Johnston, Oxford Mayor Jerry Roseberry, Mansfield Mayor Jefferson Riley and Porterdale Mayor Arline Chapman are all running unopposed.