By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newton Recreation Youth League hopes to continue winning ways
Placeholder Image
As the Newton County Recreation Youth Training League (six years old and under) came to an end last week, the all-star teams for the three divisions have officially been chosen, and will begin play in the district tournament during the third week of June.

The Training League - or "A" League - fielded 21 teams with three separate divisions this year, featuring the National, Southern and American divisions.

The winner of the National Division was the Cubs. Coached by Jeremy Webb, the Cubs had a record of 11 wins and just three losses.

The Marlins, coached by Shawn Starks, won the Southern Division with a record of nine wins and five losses.

The Braves (American division), coached by Ken Harper, was the only team in the entire Newton County Youth Baseball League to have a perfect season (14-0).

The Training League all-star teams for the three divisions begin preparation for the district tournament on Saturday at Mountain Park in Gwinnett County.

The National League all-star team will be coached by Webb, D.J. Wilson, Chuck Baggett and Tony Middlebrooks. The team will feature players such as McClain Allgood, John Baggett, Allen Brown, Spurgeon Gaither, Wyatt Hambly, Griffin McQueen, Ayden Middlebrooks, Jeremy Webb, Dalton Whitley, Cory Wilson, William Wolf and Samuel Wright. The squad will compete at 11 a.m. at Mountain Park on field No 2.

Meanwhile, the Southern League all-star team will be coached by Starks, Troy Milner, Angela Whitmore and Shane Stegall. It will include players Chandler Anderson, Aron Cox, Walker Edmondson, Jaden Latimore, Caden Milner, Hunter Prince, Jordan Reed, Billy Roper, Jarius Starks, Zachery Whitmire, Khalil Wilcox and Alec Woodard. The team will play at 5 p.m. at Mountain Park on field No 1.

The American League all-star team will be coached by Harper, Greg Shirley, Crandall Stamps and Henry Younker. The roster will include Jamal Boykin, Harrison Floyd, Conner Gandy, Brayden Harper, Joshua Houseworth, Hunter Lane, Christian Murray, John Shirley, Ryan Shirley, Crandall Stamps, Jackson Wilder and Samuel Younker. The squad will compete at 1 p.m. at Mountain Park on field No 1.

Newton County has dominated the Training League district play, winning five of the last six years.

Ricky Vaughn, athletic supervisor for the Newton County Recreation Department, commented, "Although some of the offensive power may be down this year from years past in the Training League, the defensive play looks to be the strongest (within) the past 10 years."

The All-Star tournament will include 18 teams from areas such as Norcross, Brookwood, Grayson, South Gwinnett, Peachtree Ridge, Mountain Park and Duluth. The games begin Saturday and will continue every day until the district championship is held on June 24.