By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Local Pee Wee League prepares for All-Stars
Placeholder Image
The Newton County Recreation Department Youth Baseball Pee Wee League (eight and under) finished its spring season last week, and is now preparing three all-star teams to represent Newton County in the Dixie League district tournament at City Pond beginning Saturday. If they win the tournament, it will be eight in a row.

The Pee Wee League fielded 14 teams this year. The American division champions were the Yankees (13-1), and were coached by Brian Digby. The champions of the National division were the Sox (9-5), coached by John Anglin. The Cubs, coached by Doug Lee, won the Southern division (6-8).

The American division all-star team will be coached by Digby, Brian Gates and Greg Evans. The team includes Tristan Cammon, Brennan Carter, Ryan Digby, Brayden Ergle, Drew Evans, Austin Gates, Michael Hipps, Steven Howard, Christopher Oliver, William Rutledge, River Rutledge and Chandler Sweat.

The National division all-star team will play Talon Anglin, Joshua Cammon, Chavis Franklin, Shane Hupp, Zachary Kinnon, Carter Kirkpatrick, Zachary Lister, Anthony Ownsby, William Sanders, Christopher Sullivan, Robert Thompson and Thomas Wilson. The coaches are Anglin, Jeff Lister and Mark Kirkpatrick.

The Southern all-star team will be coached by Lee, Jeff Whitmire and Michael Spivey. The team roster includes Ahmad Ali, Austin Bone, Trevor Breedlove, Gabriel Gilbert, Nicholas Green, Tyler Hogwood, Matthew Jenkins, Zachery Lee, Clay Marlowe, Jacob Spivey, Thomas Wells and Trenton Whitmire.

On Saturday, the three all-star teams representing Newton County will host the district tournament at City Pond in Covington. Typically, the teams are split up between two different districts, but this year all three teams will play at City Pond.

The winner of the district tournament will go to the state tournament at Collins Hill in Gwinnett County. Meanwhile, the second place team will play a three-game series against the second place team of the district, hosted in Crawford County on June 22.

The winner will advance to the state tournament.

The American team will start the tournament at 10 a.m. against Jasper County. The Southern team has the second game against Jones County at noon, while the National team will play the last game of the day at 2 p.m. against North Macon.

The Newton County Pee Wee all-star teams have dominated at the district level, winning the last seven years in a row.

According to Ricky Vaughn, Newton County Recreation Department's athletic supervisor, the Pee Wee League "has lost some players (who) have played (on) all-star teams in the past," but still believes Newton County will have a strong chance of sending at least two teams to the state tournament June 30 at Collins Hill.