By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Indian Creek wrestling wins New Rock League title
Placeholder Image

The Indian Creek wrestling squad tallied 143 points last weekend to win the 2007-08 New Rock League Individual Championship.

General Ray Davis finished second with 122 points.

Rounding out the top five were Cousins (third) with 119 points, followed by Conyers and Edwards, each tied for fourth place with 117 points overall.

Overall, Indian Creek finished 27-1, giving the Panthers their best record since the wrestling program began in 1998.

Led by coaches Neil Badertscher and Anthony Wimpey, the Panthers ended their remarkable season undefeated in league play with a 10-0 record.

For Indian Creek, the individual champions included Tyler Bailey (80 pounds, two pins), Austin McCullough (85, two pins and one win), Kyle Barronton (119, one pin and two technicals), Sage Allen (125, one pin and one tech), Kamron Scaggs (130, one pin one win) and Alex Davis (140, two pins).

League runner-up Panther wrestlers included Daniel Whitlow (135, one win) and Jarrod Rickman (145, one pin).

Indian Creek's Grady Bryant (160) wrestled his way to a third place finish with one pin.

Finishing the day at fourth for the Panthers were Eric Barnes (95, one win and one tech), Wesley Chambers (103, one win), Justin Cochran (112, two wins), Will Daniel (152, one pin) and Mark Smith (171, one pin).

Last year, Indian Creek finished 25-6.