Hunters still in need of a hunter education course before the end of deer season now have more options.
The Georgia Department of Natural Resources’ Wildlife Resources Division offers ways to make that happen: an eight-hour online or CD course followed by a two-hour review or the 10-hour traditional classroom course.
The classroom course is free of charge. The four available online courses each require a fee (from $9.95–$24.95), but all are "pass or don’t pay" courses. Fees for these courses are charged and collected by the independent course developer. If the online course vendor fees are an obstacle, students can obtain a free CD-ROM by contacting their local DNR law enforcement office.
Completion of a hunter education course is required for any person born on or after January 1, 1961 who purchases a season hunting license in Georgia, is at least 12 years old and hunts without adult supervision or hunts big game (deer, turkey or bear) in a wildlife management area.
Exceptions include any person who purchases a short-term hunting license or is hunting on his/her own land.
For more information, visit www.gohuntgeorgia.com/hunting/education or call 770-761-3010.